Judaism / Personal / Travel

My 27th Year…

Dear Friend,

As I start my 28th year of life today I have had time to sit back and reflect, as I watch the desert floods quenching the thirst this city has suffered for many months, on how amazing my last 27 years of life have been, and to think about all of the exciting things yet to come in year 28. This past year has seen many ups and downs (mostly ups), and from getting accepted to PhD candidacy in forensic clinical psychology, to moving back to the states from my Middle Eastern haven, this year held quite a fair few adventures.

I have so many amazing blessings in my life, and if the next 27 years pass by as smoothly as the first did, I will consider that to be the ultimate gift from God. I’ve traveled the world, met my partner in life and soulmate, become a mommy (yes, I know, he’s just a dog, but when you have the responsibility of keeping a living, breathing being alive then you become a parent even if the child has fur and four legs!), grown in my career as a PowToon marketer, completed the last year of my Master’s with an almost 4.0 GPA, been accepted to do my PhD, recorded music with a famous Israeli musician, bought myself my first car, and so much more!

So what are we looking at for year 28?

Well, it should come as no surprise that there will be a wedding in my future. Two actually! My sister will walk down the aisle on March 13th, and Stephane and I will start coordinating the best time to say our I-Do’s shortly after (God willing we are looking at June 2017 in Israel with a reception in California the month before – but we are still in the beginning stage of planning and won’t really know what we can do until we both get our school schedules).

I will also be starring in a play! I haven’t been on the stage since high school, but a few weeks ago my theatre teacher contacted me about a play she is producing called “Bad Jews”, and she really wanted me to play the lead female role. The minute I read the description for the character I knew it was the right choice for me. She is a 2/3 body, 1/3 hair super JAP (Jewish American Princess) from New York. Well I’m not from New York, but I’m sure I can learn how they act in time for the play! It’s a hysterical comedy that also brings up some pretty heavy issues of religion, interfaith marriage, the Holocaust, mourning deaths of loved ones, and more, and I can’t wait to have the opportunity to perform in front of Stephane. He has never seen me in action before, so I hope he enjoys!

Becoming Dr. Pepper: I will be starting my PhD as a second year, meaning I will begin to see patients in my spring quarter (I believe – but it could be winter quarter). I couldn’t be happier to really get started with my career, and having the chance to help people under the supervision of a licensed clinical psychologist is such a phenomenal way to ease me into working, professional life. A part of me will really miss the lax flow of Start Up Nation, but once I’m licensed I can hopefully find a way to integrate the creativity and flexibility I have come to know working in high tech with the structured professionalism that one needs when they are a doctor and clinician. The fact that I will be a specialized forensic psychologists will also give me flexibility to work in the legal sector, which will also be a great experience.

The forever politician: I have a sneaking suspicion that people think I’m joking when I say I want to run for the senate one day, but along with school I hope to continue developing my “political self”, so that when the time comes, I’m ready to go! I mean let’s be honest, who wouldn’t want a nice, Jewish, republican senator for a change! Anyways, we have quite a few years until this dream comes to fruition, but it never hurts to prepare early. Maybe I’ll even have time to convince my democrat mother to vote for me should I still be a resident of California 🙂 Stephane is also profoundly supportive of this crazy dream of mine, so while he talks my head off about optometry, I’ll talk his off about the political fervour of the day, just to keep my wit sharp and ideas fresh!

 

So that’s a preview of what year 28 holds! If it is half as good as it looks on paper it is bound to be a great year, but no matter what happens I have the comfort of knowing I have incredible family, friends, and loved ones who will help me through any and all obstacles that come my way.

I miss you forever and always, friend, and wish for nothing more than you to be here today, but I know you are looking down on me cheering me on!

Until we meet again <3,

Jordana Simone

 

Leave a Reply

