Personal / Travel

Becoming a Doctor & So Much More

Dear Friend,

I can’t believe that it’s been almost 7 weeks since I arrived home in California… It feels like only seconds have passed, yet I find myself only 3 weeks away from my return trip to Israel. So much has changed since I have been home, and the saying “you don’t know what you have until its gone” holds a new meaning for me. America never left me, but I did leave her for 4 long years, and only now do I truly appreciate the kind of life one only knows if they live in America. Things are not perfect here, in fact they are far from it, but you would be hard pressed to find any country in the world that affords their citizens a better quality of life. I’m not sad to go back to Israel, but I’m also not sad that soon Stephane and I will be leaving her for our new life in America (at least for the next 10 years or so). We will miss Israel every day, but, God willing, she isn’t going anywhere, and we will always be back to visit. The reality is, however, that we want a kind of life we can’t build in Israel at this time, and we are so excited to start our next adventure, both in our respective careers and relationship, in the land of the free and the home of the brave!

Speaking of careers, I am almost finished my first year of grad school, and will find out if I’m conditionally accepted to the PhD program by the end of summer! Yesterday I packed up my car, drove 8 hours to Palo Alto, and had my first day of clinical training today. If I ever had a doubt about clinical psychology as my professional of choice, those doubts were quashed when i interviewed my first mock patient today. I’ve never felt more sure that this is what I’m meant to do, and the beautiful thing about a PhD in clinical psychology is the option and opportunity to be a doctor, clinician, therapist, diagnostician, researcher, and teacher. I am joining an elite profession where I will not only work to discover, but will also apply my research to helping patients in need. I will use what I learn as a behavioral scientists to help patients that suffer from illnesses outside of the physical realm, while all the while conducting research and contributing to academia. I get to have my clinical and research cake and eat it too!

Palo Alto is absolutely gorgeous. I forgot how much I loved Northern California, and being so close to both San Francisco and Berkeley makes me feel like I’m back in my college days! My apartment is gorgeous, filled with every amenity you could want or need, and I’m thoroughly enjoying having a week to really live on my own. It does get a bit lonely, but I’ve been surrounded by people for so long, that I’m really appreciating the solitude! I especially love my meditation garden, and the weather is to die for 🙂 I do wish my pup was here with me though!

Probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in!

Probably the most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in!

My kitchen! Full kitchen, washer, dryer, dishwasher, and pure heaven!

My kitchen! Full kitchen, washer, dryer, dishwasher, and pure heaven!

Walk in closet and laundry room

Walk in closet and laundry room

My private meditation garden

My private meditation garden

Bathroom

Bathroom

Meditation garden

Meditation garden

Meditation garden

Meditation garden

Living room

Living room

I think it’s going to be a fantastic week. I have my formal PhD interview tomorrow and I’m very excited about it. I’ve never been too nervous with interviews, so I’m just going to go in with an open mind and do my best to answer their questions. One of my interviewers did her PhD at Berkeley so if we can’t think of anything to talk about I’ll just mention my obsession with Cal and see how that goes over 🙂

I’ll keep you posted on the week as it progresses, and be sure to check out my Psychology blog for most specifics on the training clinical psychologists go through!

I miss you every day and love you always

Until we meet again <3,

Jordana Simone

Leave a Reply

