Personal / Travel

Sometimes You Can Come Home Again

Dear Friend,

It has been at least two months since I have written to you, but everyday I have, in some capacity, talked to you. While April and May were turbulent months plagued with sickness and personal distress, I found my way home to California for much needed rest, relaxation, recovery, and high hopes for a much improved June and July. Though this is yet another two month separation from Stephane, I needed to come home.

I finished my first year of graduate school this week, and, with God’s help, I hope that I pulled off another 4.0 quarter! It will make my case very strong for officially transitioning to the PhD program! Now I just need to buckle down and study for the GRE’s since the bureaucracy of our glorious education system still requires prospective graduate students to take completely meaningless standardized tests that say absolutely nothing about one’s ability to be a successful student… But, alas, it is something I must do, so I might as well try and do it well!

It is so wonderful to be home again, especially after the last two months I’ve had in Israel. Everything about home is so calm, and there is nothing like being surrounded by family after a prolonged absence. I’m even happy to be back in the 115 degree summer heat! What can I say, I’m a desert rat through and through, and Palm Springs has never seemed so beautiful.

Our beautiful desert

Our beautiful desert

I must have missed a memo, however, in the last 4 years, because Palm Springs is starting to become quite the happening place, and the city doesn’t shut down in the summer like it used to. I’m not used to seeing so many people here in the middle of June! But perhaps the best part about being home is being reunited with one of the best things to come out of my time in Israel:

My little itty bitty doesn't want to wake up! He's on vacation

My little itty bitty doesn’t want to wake up! He’s on vacation

Mommy and son reunite!

Mommy and son reunite!

The kisses don't stop!

The kisses don’t stop!

Just like my last trip home the begging of my vacation has been a whirlwind of activities and academic finals. Through the studying and the jet leg, I managed to sneak away to attend the wedding of one of my best friends and sorority sisters from Berkeley. In fact, I came home so early in June just to make this special occasion. It was a stunning wedding. It was held at her family’s farm in Ramona, San Diego, and it was a classic mix of elegance and country! The ceremony was absolutely hysterical, Keri looked stunning, and I was finally reunited with my Berkeley soul mate and roommate of 4 years, Jillian, who has been studying medicine at my other university love, The Ohio Sate University! It was a perfect celebration of love that brought together family and friends from all over.

The beautiful bride being given away by her daddy

The beautiful bride being given away by her daddy

Jilli is enjoying the refreshments

Jilli is enjoying the refreshments

Mr. and Mrs. Wilson!

Mr. and Mrs. Wilson!

Yup, she rode in on a horse! It was perfect

Yup, she rode in on a horse! It was perfect

Roomies!

Roomies!

Mommy and me at the wedding!

Mommy and me at the wedding!

Here comes the bride! And the horse!

Here comes the bride! And the horse!

The beautiful venue

The beautiful venue

 

Once wedding festivities wrapped up it was back home to finish final papers and final exams. The successful end to the quarter was celebrated with a visit from our Southern side of the family (my mom’s cousins from Alabama who live in Florida), and we all enjoyed the most wonderful dinner and company. Stephane was able to spend a week with Brother and Cookie in Florida, and spent the whole time raving about how amazing they were, so I was really happy to have some time with them too. Hopefully once we figure out where Stephane is going for his doctorate we will be able to spend quite a bit of time with them in Florida!

When South meets West!

When South meets West!

Well that wraps up the first week of my trip. Now that I’m done with school, and officially on vacation, I will be able to update the blog quite frequently!

I miss you every second of every day!

Until we meet again <3,

Jordana Simone

2 thoughts on “Sometimes You Can Come Home Again

  1. Great post, I hope you’ve enjoyed you time at home! I’m also an expat in Israel and I just started a blog about my experience. I was so happy to find yours! It’s great inspiration šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

