Judaism / Personal / Travel

How Do We Celebrate Our Triumph Over The Persians… Costumes!

Dear Friend,

Well it has been a shameful amount of time since I have written and I can only attribute that to the fact that this whole “becoming Dr. Pepper” while simultaneously working 9 hours a day is not leaving time for much outside of breathing… And I mean that almost literally. However, with Stephane’s departure to America for a few weeks, and my new found attitude that leaving work a half an hour early here and there might help my mental sanity, I find I have a little extra time tonight to update you on what has been going on.

Israeli Elections 2015

Israel is abuzz with political fervor, and with the elections less than a week away things are getting very intense. It’s a cut throat race between Bibi Netanyahu’s center-right party, and Tzipi Livnis coalition of center leftists, and I’m only hoping enough people get to the polls to ensure Israel doesn’t fall into the hands of those who would put her existence at risk. The financial situation isn’t going to mean a darn thing if Israel ceases to exist, which is why I’m voting for the party I feel wouldn’t put her security at any sort of risk. To be honest I would probably vote the far right party Bayt Yehudi (the leader of which I actually really like) if it didn’t mean taking a vote away from the only party that could beat Livni. I guess we will find out which way the country wants to go next week, but whoever wins I will continue to stay dedicated to my advocacy and unwavering support of my homeland and the only Jewish country in the world!

Those Crazy Persians

Last week we celebrated one of the most interesting, fun holidays you can celebrate here in Israel, and it came at a bitterly appropriate time. Purim celebrates and honors Queen Ester who saved the Jews from a Persian man named Haman who threatened the very existence of the Jews. In today’s day and age there is another Persian regime threatening to wipe out the Jews, and the holiday gave a renewed sense of hope that if it didn’t happen then, it won’t happen now! Plus who doesn’t love a holiday where you can dress up and it’s considered a good deed to get completely wasted.

For a good three days it was impossible to walk outside of the house without running into a plethora of people dressed in every kind of imaginable costume. It’s one of the things I love most about Israel; you can’t escape the holidays, you feel them everywhere you go, and they are yours. This isn’t Christmas, or Halloween, or Easter, where, in America you might feel the holiday cheer but it isn’t yours. In Israel every holiday holds meaning and it is something you can’t experience anywhere else in the world.

We even celebrated at work!

We have a Monk in the office!

We have a Monk in the office!

Bat-Chen is really ghetto fabulous

Bat-Chen is really ghetto fabulous

I new my Mini ears wouldn't go to waste!

I new my Mini ears wouldn’t go to waste!

I dragged this ugly mask all the way back from the USA for him!

I dragged this ugly mask all the way back from the USA for him!

The marketing girls!

The marketing girls!

the PowToon athletes!

the PowToon athletes!

Say Cheese!

Say Cheese!

Purim Selfie???

Purim Selfie???

Yup... They did an interview in costume!

Yup… They did an interview in costume!

PowToon Awesomeness!

PowToon Awesomeness!

I was happy... We had SUSHI!

I was happy… We had SUSHI!

My amazing team!

My amazing team!

Best company in Tel Aviv

Best company in Tel Aviv

I wish we could work like this every day!

I wish we could work like this every day!

I hope they didn't scare passing children

I hope they didn’t scare passing children

 

When I returned home form work after the holiday party I remembered that Stephane and I hadn’t heard the reading of the Megillah, which is required on Purim, but it was already getting late and Stephane was slaving away over his costume and didn’t really have the motivation to move from the house. So, we decided to get creative and came up with a great way to modernize our Mitzvot (good deeds). We found a recording of the Megillah reading on YouTube and didn’t even have to leave the comfort of our room to fulfill our duties :-).

That night Stephane previewed his newly made costume for a group of his French friends and I decided to stay home and do homework so that I could enjoy the next day festivities.

Street Party

Stephane and I woke up Friday morning to summer. It was like God realized there was going to be a street party full of costumed Tel Avivians and he decided to give us the gift of sun and heat! I certainly wasn’t complaining. Though Stephane and I each had studying to do we figured we would go to the street party around noon, spend a few hours, and then come home and have the rest of the late afternoon and evening to get all of our work done. As I was getting ready with my Mini Mouse ears, my wonderful, amazing, creative boyfriend decided he wanted to do my makeup for the occasion, and, trusting his phenomenal creativity and that he wouldn’t turn me into a clown, he crafted a perfectly adorable mouse face, and I fell even more in love with him (didn’t even think that was possible). His brother is a brilliant hair dresser, and he is apparently quite gifted with makeup, so I think it’s safe to say that I hit the jackpot! Stephane dressed in his 100% hand made Captain America costume, I was his Mighty Mouse, and we took the street party by storm. We even ran into a few kindred spirits along the way…

Stephane's hand made shield and helmet! He's so creative!

Stephane’s hand made shield and helmet! He’s so creative!

My boyfriend did my makeup! WIN

My boyfriend did my makeup! WIN

Captain America (Tel Aviv style)

Captain America (Tel Aviv style)

Well he is definitely patriotic... With a French accent!

Well he is definitely patriotic… With a French accent!

The dream team!

The dream team!

The French Invasion

The French Invasion

Purim Street Party 2015

Purim Street Party 2015

We found Iron Man!

We found Iron Man!

French Captain America meet Russian Captain America

French Captain America meet Russian Captain America

Mini America!

Mini America!

Photo bombed!

Photo bombed!

He's a cute Mini Mouse!

He’s a cute Mini Mouse!

Maybe he can reprise this costume next year for Halloween!

Maybe he can reprise this costume next year for Halloween!

God bless America!

God bless America!

Kissey faces!

Kissey faces!

I love him too much

I love him too much

We found another one!

We found another one!

Street partying

Street partying

An Israeli band of superheros!

An Israeli band of superheros!

America! Heck YA!

America! Heck YA!

It was a fabulous holiday, and now that it is over I have the end of the quarter to think about. I’m an annotated bibliography, paper, diagnosis, and a 3 hour final away from hopefully achieving something academically I have never done before (no evil eye)! I’ll be really happy once Easter break rolls around that’s for sure.

I love you and miss you every second of every day, friend!

Until we meet again <3,

Jordana Simone

Leave a Reply

