Personal / Travel

Palestine? No… It’s Ferguson

Dear Friend,

It was another gorgeous, sunny day in beautiful California, and as I was looking at pictures of a snow drenched Midwest and East Coast I couldn’t help but smile as I walked outside with my dog in 80 degree sunshine! We really are the envy of the world in winter time, but I will say this, it is a bit strange listening to Christmas music about the snow and cold in summer weather.

Seeing as today was my first day of actual vacation I wanted to make sure I spent time doing some things I really loved. After a leisurely morning spent sleeping in and catching up on some television shows, my mother and I enjoyed a fantastic 2 hour lunch with some very dear family friends who I haven’t seen in quite a number of years. It was a wonderful way to spend the early afternoon, and upon returning home my aunt Michelle came over and I was able to partake in another one of my favorite activities: Mahjong! Jewish Mahjong, not Chinese Mahjong (note the Joy Luck Club reference!). I learned to play so many years ago and it has remained one of my favorite games over the years.

After a good few hours of playing, the three of us decided to try a new sushi restaurant near home, and after going almost a month without satisfying my addiction I was very ready for this dinner. Unfortunately I have been spoiled by sushi perfection in Tel Aviv and this restaurant didn’t quite live up to what I’m used to, but it was still tasty nonetheless. I tend to judge sushi restaurants by their spicy mayonnaise and this one wasn’t so up to par… I’m a bit of a snob.

When I returned home from dinner I figured I might as well catch up on some news since I feel a bit disconnected being in America. In Israel I usually read up on the news multiple times a day, but since returning for a visit home I’ve been keeping up less. When I turned on the television it was to scenes of mayhem, burning, looting, shooting… I almost felt like I was back home watching scenes unfold from some riot in the West Bank or Gaza. But this wasn’t the Palestinian territories… This wasn’t the Middle East… This was right here in America in response to the Grand Jury’s decision to not indict the police offer who shot and killed a black teenager, Michael Brown, in Ferguson Missouri.

Leaving the politics aside, and not getting in to whether or not I agree or disagree with the Grand Jury’s final decision, the response from the citizens of Ferguson has been nothing short of disgusting. Here are masked, cowardly people looting and ravaging their own city, and doing so even despite the Brown family’s request for an end to the violence. The citizens in Ferguson who are partaking in this horrific display of anarchy are not only bringing shame upon themselves, but they are embarrassing their country on a worldwide stage. To have to watch a news crew screaming at their camera men to run and hide because gun shots are going off all around them is horrendous and there is no excuse. We do not live in a war zone…

FerusonRiots

 

20140823_USP001_1

People seem to never learn that this is not the way to solve anything. This will never be the way to get positive results. If you have a problem with something try and change it through good because the only thing the people of Ferguson are doing is completely delegitimizing their entire case. Life isn’t fair… Bad things happen to good people. Good things happen to bad people. Maybe one day others will stop adding to the problems and start constructively trying to solve some of the major issues facing our society. Results might not be seen right away, and it could take a great deal of time for anything to actually change, but to the people who are deluding themselves by thinking that this is the way to get those results, well they will soon find out that they have done so much more harm than good.

 

I miss you every second of every day friend and I love you to infinity and beyond!

Until we meet again <3,

Jordana Simone

Leave a Reply

