Uncategorized

Can You Ever Really Come Home Again?

Dear Friend,

It has been an unacceptable amount of time since I have last written to you and I can only attribute that to a whole lot of studying, paper writing, and a cross continental trip home to California with the puppy! It was quite an ordeal getting Jasper to America, and though I was an emotional wreck putting him in a cage and locking him under a plane, he was the same happy puppy he always is when we finally arrived in Los Angeles 18 hours later! He was such a trooper and he is adjusting to life in California very nicely (with the help of massive amounts of spoiling from both my mother and me).

Prince Jasper loves California!

Prince Jasper loves California!

I’m so happy to be with my family after almost a consecutive year and a half away but I miss Israel immensely and I find myself wishing California was only a few hours away as opposed to being on the opposite side of the world. It would make travel back and forth much easier and less expensive. But I have found ways to keep myself connected to home being 8,000 miles away. After participating in my best friend’s beautiful wedding as one of her bridesmaids I was honored to speak at a Desert Cities Hadassah event where I spoke for almost an hour about my experiences in Israel as a new immigrant, my experiences living in Palestinian East Jerusalem, and my experiences during two wars with Gaza. It was so wonderful sharing my story and points of view on the Palestinian-Israeli conflict, and only a few days ago I was invited by the President of Hadassah of Southern California to be a speaker at their big winter conference in Los Angeles. I can’t wait to share my story with more people and speak about a subject that is so close to my heart. I’m becoming quite the advocate in my old age and I’m so happy to do all that I can to bring awareness to anyone who will listen!

Bridal party limo to the wedding!

Bridal party limo to the wedding!

My gorgeous friend and her prince charming

My gorgeous friend and her prince charming

The truest love

The truest love

<3

❤

Speaking at Hadassah

Speaking at Hadassah

Hadassah Presentation

Hadassah Presentation

Presentation on life in Israel

Presentation on life in Israel

 

Once the wedding and presentation were over and done with it was on to a great deal of studying for 3 finals and two research papers, and today the last assignment was submitted marking the official beginning of my vacation. To celebrate I took Jasper to see Bubby and we went to one of the local dog parks. Jasper loves going to visit but the house feels so different without you there. I was very nervous about going over for the first time, but I think I handled myself well. I have had almost a year to prepare myself in terms of what life would be like back home without you, but it is not the same, and it will never be the same again and I miss you terribly.

Now that I am officially on vacation I will be writing almost every day about life back in California (even though it is just for vacation), impressions on what is currently going on in Israel, and other goodies! But for now I’m going to say goodnight and start re-reading the Harry Potter series because I promised myself I would do that on this vacation!

 

I love you to infinity and beyond and I miss you more than words can express.

Until we meet again <3,

Jordana Simone

2 thoughts on “Can You Ever Really Come Home Again?

Leave a Reply

