Personal / Singing / Travel

Nothing Says Welcome Home Like Mosquitos and Vomit!

Dear Friend,

It feels so strange, albeit refreshing, to be writing about my life again outside of the many wars and hostilities we are facing here in the Middle East. Although, as things progress and change with ISIS, Hamas, Hezbollah, and the Syrian civil war, all of which directly effects Israel, I’m sure I’ll be back to talking politics soon! For now, however, I’m basking in the joy of living with my new, “forever” roommate, in a gorgeous mini penthouse apartment in my favorite building in Tel Aviv; the building I have called home for most of my time living in Israel, and the very building where I met Stephane almost three years ago! This is the 4th apartment that I’ve lived in in this building so I think it is safe to say I’ve found my little spot in Tel Aviv that really is home.

25815ImageFile5 3872803651 LargePic_64_1

 

This seemed to be the absolute perfect time to take the plunge and make the big move. As we are in the midst of planning the next phase of our lives toegher, which includes a lengthy stay in the United States to finish our respective doctorates, work, and save beaucoup bucks before buying property and returning to Israel, it made so much sense to spend the remainder of our time here living together in his parents brand new apartment. His parents are back and forth to France so frequently, and the place has so much space, we really do have our own little niche in the apartment, and though I was a bit hesitant at first to live with a family again, it has proven to be really amazing to have so many wonderful people around. I have been on my own for so long that I forgot how nice it was to have family around to help out. This move is also helping us save quite a bit of money which will give us a fighting chance at a good start once we move to New York next summer.

 

The Grand Hallway (as I like to call it!)

The Grand Hallway (as I like to call it!)

Night view from the balcony

Night view from the balcony

Day view from the balcony

Day view from the balcony

View from the side window of our room

View from the side window of our room

Balcony view #2

Balcony view #2

The plasma was clearly the most important thing to set up first

The plasma was clearly the most important thing to set up first

Our GIGANTIC, amazing balcony!

Our GIGANTIC, amazing balcony!

The dinning room and salon

The dinning room and salon

 

Most of the permanent furniture is still on the way so once everything is set up I’ll be sure to post final pictures of the place!

Jasper

During the war last month I hardly had time to update anyone on what was occurring in my every day life, but I’m so excited to announce that Jasper has officially become a member of the Pepper-Fitoussi family! Though he had a really wonderful time with Jen’s sister and her family for a few months, with a new baby on the way, and a fairly aggressive and hyperactive other dog, it proved to be a bit too much, and he really has the best situation with my and my family.

Snuggle time with Jasper and his cousin Bella

Snuggle time with Jasper and his cousin Bella

Jasper is probably the most well adjusted to his new life back home with mommy. We have a great routine that consists of a walk every morning before work, a little trip outside in the afternoon with either his aunty Jen or daddy Stephane (although soon we will put some grass on the balcony for him so that he won’t need to go downstairs during the afternoon hours when I’m working), a long walk and a trip to the dog park after work, and then one more little walk before bed. Now that we are in the apartment with Stephane’s mom and little brother there is really hardly any hour in the day where he is alone and without attention which is also so wonderful! He really is the king of the house (much to Stephane’s disappointment I’m sure :-p)

Jasper made himself right at home from day 1

Jasper made himself right at home from day 1

This is how he spends our daily outings to the park!

This is how he spends our daily outings to the park! You can clearly see he is enjoying himself!

Prince Jasper is right at home

Prince Jasper is right at home

They've officially bonded

They’ve officially bonded

Jassy found his new best friend

Jassy found his new best friend

 

Jasper also has a set group of girlfriends that he absolutely loves to play with at the park who I am sure will miss him terribly when we go to America! This is a playdate with his twin girlfriend whose owner is trying to get me to adopt her so that Jasper can have a sister. I told her that I have at least 3 people who would murder me if I took another dog, but maybe one day 😉

 

 

Our First Night

Last night was our first official night sleeping at the new apartment, and it wasn’t without its excitements. After a few hours of dragging up suitcases and boxes filled with the contents of my last apartment, I finally managed to get most of our room set up and comfortable (minus the fact that we still need a closet and a desk which will hopefully arrive soon). Once Stephane moved his stuff in we were readying ourselves for a nice, quiet first night as we were both really exhausted from a full day of work and moving.

About an hour before we went to bed, a few hours after I fed Jasper dinner, I gave Jasper a new treat that his Aunty Jen bought for him at the veterinary clinic where she works. He seemed to really enjoy it but when he was chewing the treat it sounded like he was eating plastic (no doubt due to the consistency of the treat). I didn’t really think anything of it until around 4 in the morning when I heard the same crunching noise from Jasper’s bed. This struck me as weird since he finished the treat in its entirety only a few hours before, and when I looked down I noticed that he had thrown up a huge chunk of grossness, and was now eating the contents of what he had expelled (most of which were large chunks of his former treat)… NOT FUN! After taking some time to clean his recently washed bed and make sure he got whatever it was out of his system, we finally all managed to get back to sleep… for maybe 20 minutes

After about 20 minutes the mosquitoes arrived and spent the next hour and half torturing me and Stephane while Prince Jasper was sleeping like a baby! By around 6am, after some intensive searching for the pests that caused us a lot of itching, we concluded that the culprits had flown back out of one of our open windows, which we shut immediately, and we managed to fall back to sleep. At 7am Jasper decided it was time to wake up for breakfast and a walk and that was it… My hopes for a good first night sleep in the new place were shot to hell, and I accepted my loss and took Jasper outside to play. At least it was a memorable first night!

Other than that, friend, the rest of the week will be dedicated to school and work. I am loving my program so far, despite the time difference and heavy reading load, and the fact that I have an Israeli professor makes it all the more enjoyable. Next week starts the holiday season in Israel so I have a short work week in preparation for the New Year followed by Stephane’s birthday, Yom Kippur and Sukkot shortly after. I’m hoping to use the time off work to really focus on school and my music project. I’m in the process of scheduling a meeting with another really big Israeli producer for the upcoming week which is very exciting!

I can’t believe it’s been a year since Stephane and I were home with you in California for the high holidays, and I still have moments where I can’t believe you are gone. The biggest blessing was that you were here last year to meet Stephane and, in that short time, formed such a wonderful relationship with him. I think about you ever day, I miss you every second, and I love you always and forever.

Until we meet again <3,

Jordana Simone

Leave a Reply

