Personal / Travel / Uncategorized

An American Girl In Paris: You Look Good For Being Over 500 Years Old!

She is so beautiful!

She is so beautiful!

 

Dear Friend,

After a wonderful night at the theater we couldn’t let the culture aspect of our journey escape us! The next day it was off to the Louvre for us, and I was determined to show Stephane that even museums can be fun! In the end I think he did end up having a very good time :-). When we first arrived to the museum, after a quick Metro ride, I was struck by the extensive grounds and style of the architecture! Everything in Paris, from the apartments to the cafes, were so grand and beautiful, and the Louvre was no exception! It was simply stunning (and I hadn’t even been inside yet)!

Le Louvre!

Le Louvre!

The gorgeous grounds that house the Louvre

The gorgeous grounds that house the Louvre

IMG_0272

 

 

When we first entered the building I was immediately struck by one thing; the temperature. It was the first time in over a week I actually felt the warmth in my hands and feet, and I could have basked in the warmth of the building the remainder of the trip had it been an option! I really don’t do well in the cold, and France is COLD!!!! I was very thankful to give my thin blooded body a break from the weather! After the tickets were purchased(well my ticket, Mr. Frenchy got in for free), we briefly walked by some ancient Egyptian artifacts before really starting the meat of our tour in one of my favorite sections!

Entrance to the Louvre

Entrance to the Louvre

Entrance to the Louvre

Entrance to the Louvre

Stephane is getting cultured!

Stephane is getting cultured!

Ancient Egyptian artifacts

Ancient Egyptian artifacts

 

Ancient Greece

Ever since I began my studies of the classical languages in high school I have been enthralled by ancient Greek culture! I mean it only makes sense, with my fantasy obsession, a civilization based on gods and magic were right up my alley! I saw everything from elaborate statues of the Greek gods and goddesses, to the famed Venus De Milo herself. Each piece had a  history and a story, and I lost myself in this world that I have been so in love with for so long. I could have stayed in this exhibit all day, but, alas, there was one other lady I desperately wanted to meet, and she was far from this room. So, after I satisfied my appetite in Ancient Greece it was time to move over to see a little bit of art from Italy!

IMG_0283

IMG_0287

IMG_0289

Venus De Milo!!!

Venus De Milo!!!

She is simply overwhelming!

She is simply overwhelming!

I was having the time of my life

I was having the time of my life

I was trying to imitate Zeus with baby Hercules and Pegasus

I was trying to imitate Zeus with baby Hercules and Pegasus

IMG_0303

IMG_0305

IMG_0284

 

Italy

After a few minutes of searching, we were finally directed towards the exhibit dedicated to the brilliant works of the great Italian painters! I have never seen such intricate paintings in my life, some as big as houses, and I was finally acquainted with the famed Mona Lisa! This was the painting I was most looking forward to seeing, as I’m sure is the case for most people who visit the Louvre, and Mr. Da Vinci did not disappoint! She was simply stunning! A bit smaller than I would have thought, but beautiful and intriguing nonetheless! I was simply in historical heaven!

IMG_0324

Hall of the great Italian Painters

Hall of the great Italian Painters

IMG_0327

This was a very, very, very BIG painting!

This was a very, very, very BIG painting!

THERE SHE IS!!!!

THERE SHE IS!!!!

She is so beautiful!

She is so beautiful!

I can't believe I was seeing her in real life!

I can’t believe I was seeing her in real life!

Stunning!

Stunning!

IMG_0340

IMG_0342

IMG_0346

IMG_0347

 

 

France

When we had finished with Italy, we gave ourselves time for one more exhibit. We figured since we were in France, and since France is Stephane’s country, we would spend our last bit of time in a remarkable room solely dedicated to the great French painters and sculptures along side some of their great works! It was one of the most stunning exhibits I have ever seen, and it was the warmest room in the building! I was very happy 🙂

The room of the great French Sculptures and Painters!

The room of the great French Sculptures and Painters!

IMG_0312

IMG_0313

IMG_0314

IMG_0315

IMG_0316

IMG_0317

IMG_0319

IMG_0320

IMG_0322

IMG_0323

 

 

We had finally come to the end of our day, and we were very happy with all that we saw and did. It would take a year of consistent Louvre visiting to see everything the museum holds, but we hit all of the big things that I wanted to see! Stephane was such a trooper the whole time and was the main photographer of all these wonderful photos! I think he had so much fun taking the pictures for my blog that he forget he doesn’t really like museums! I was very proud of him :-). When we finally left the Louvre we had just enough time to stop for my almost daily Starbucks (made France feel more like home drinking a large coffee frapuccino), and then we took the Metro back home. It’s exhausting being so cultural, and we slept very well that night, which was very good because the next day was our last in Paris and we wanted to be well rested and ready for one last adventure!

I love you more than anything and miss you every second of every day!

Until we meet again <3,

Jordana Simone

Leave a Reply

