Entertainment / Personal / Travel

An American Girl In Paris: Paris By Motorcycle!

Bike tour of Paris!

Bike tour of Paris!

 

Dear Friend,

After an enchanting, albeit exhausting, day touring the city of Paris by foot, it was time for us to have another kind of Parisian adventure. Lucky for us, Avi, Stephane’s brother, wasn’t working at his salon on Sunday, so he gave us full use of his motorcycle, and we decided to take a few hours to see Paris from the back of the bike! It is a gorgeous motorcycle, and we certainly enjoyed playing with it all day! But of course, we couldn’t leave without a traditional French Crepe breakfast (with nutella!)

It had to happen

It had to happen

Our chariot!

Our chariot!

It was a bit too big for me to drive, but I had fun playing on it!

It was a bit too big for me to drive, but I had fun playing on it!

 

There was so much we were able to see of Paris on the bike that would have been entirely too much by foot. We went into every neighborhood imaginable, from the upscale areas near the Eiffel Tower and Champs Elysees, to the more retro chic, lively neighborhoods of the Jewish quarters. I felt like I had been dropped into the scene of the movie. With every turn Paris become more appealing, and I don’t know if I loved the cobble stoned streets or the romantic, French style architecture that lined the streets more. I fell in love with Paris on the back of that motorcycle, and waited with anticipation as every new turn brought Baroque style buildings sitting atop Picturesque Parisian cafes. I said to Stephane, with all seriousness, that I would not mind living here one day, and though, for various reasons, he doesn’t want to return, I think he appreciated my enthusiasm for his country. We compromised on coming every year for vacation!

My future home??? maybe one day :-)

My future home??? maybe one day šŸ™‚

012

Bike tour of Paris!

Bike tour of Paris!

017 022 023 013

 

When we were done looking at some of the beautiful French architecture, we decided to once again pass in front of the Eiffel Tower. I could go to the Eiffel Tower ten times a day and never get tired of looking at it, so it didn’t hurt to take a few minutes to ride past it again, and while we were in the area we glided down the Champs Elysees, made a very interesting friend while we were stopped at a red light, and then landed at the glorious Opera House and Gallery Lafayette. Unfortunately, because it was a Sunday, the Gallery was closed, but not to worry, we made a whole day trip to it a few days later!

 

Carousel in front of the Eiffel Tower

Carousel in front of the Eiffel Tower

027

It just never gets old!

It just never gets old!

Smile for the camera!!

Smile for the camera!!

030 033 035

L'arc de Triomphe

L’arc de Triomphe

047

This little guy was just hanging out behind us at a red light!

This little guy was just hanging out behind us at a red light!

051

Opera de Paris

Opera de Paris

 

After marveling at the architectural beauty of the Opera house for a few minutes, we decided to frequent a gorgeous cafe situated directly across the street. I hadn’t been to a real Parisian cafe yet, and, in my opinion, you haven’t truly done Paris until you have eaten at one of her cafes! We couldn’t have picked a better one! Because Passover was only a day away, I made sure to buy as much bread as I could! However, being a creature of habit, I also knew I couldn’t pass up a good club sandwich, so, after seeing one on the menu, I knew I had to get it! It was the prefect meal, and you will be very proud and happy to know that I ordered the food myself, in French. Stephane is not holding my hand much this trip, and he is really pushing me to make an effort with the language! I can now ask the time, ask where the bathroom is, order food, and say little crazy things that he feels necessary to teach me šŸ™‚

Gorgeous cafe, and handsome date!

Gorgeous cafe, and handsome date!

Scrumptious

Scrumptious

060 062 066

 

After my belly was fully satisfied, we had just enough time to visit a huge park in the middle of the city that Stephane remembers going to as a little boy. He said that his mom would take him to the park on Shabbat when it would be full of other Jewish families passing away the day of rest in such beautiful surroundings. It must have been so wonderful growing up here! Unfortunately we didn’t have so much time to explore because his dad was planning a HUGE family barbecue, but I saw enough to get the feel of the place. We will definitely be going back here once more before we leave.

069 071 075 077

 

Finally it was time to start heading home if I wanted enough time to shower and get ready for the big family barbecue. Of course Stephane, his dad, and I would be attending, joined by Avi, Avi’s wife, Natalie, their two children (Shai and Linoy), Natalie’s parents, and Natalie’s two younger sisters. It was going to be a full house, but with the amount of food Jacques prepared we could have fed a small country! We had chicken, beef sausages, burgers, steak, and every kind of salad you could possibly want or need! It was a feast for kings, and as good as the food was, it was even better seeing Stephane interact with his nephew and niece who he was really meeting for the first time. He was a very good uncle, and the kids were just the cutest things in the world!

Salad spread!

Salad spread!

Almost dinner time!

Almost dinner time!

Jacques was hard at work on the grill

Jacques was hard at work on the grill

081

Uncle Stephane playing with Shai

Uncle Stephane playing with Shai

084

Natalie and baby Linoy

Natalie and baby Linoy

Family get together! Paris style

Family get together! Paris style

 

It was a perfect day followed by a perfect evening, and when no one had any more space for food, it was time to say goodnight until tomorrow. We all wanted to be nice and rested before the big Passover Seder, which we would be having at Natalie’s parent’s house, so we kissed everyone goodnight, watched a movie in bed, and got a very good night sleep!

I miss you every second of every day and love you forever and always!

Until we meet again <3,

Jordana Simone

Leave a Reply

