Acting / Entertainment / Personal / Uncategorized

And…ACTION! My Day On set

Scene 1 take 3!

Scene 1 take 3!

 

Dear Friend,

Yesterday was my big movie shoot, and I can’t adequately describe just how incredible it was! It was probably one of the most exhausting days I have had in a long time, I was hot, sweaty, sore, uncomfortable, dehydrated, and starving, but I really can’t remember when I’ve ever had more fun outside of recording my song!

The day of the shoot started bright and early for me, and by 6:30am I was waking up to start a rather lengthy process that needed to be completed before my arrival on set. You see, unfortunately for me the stylist of the movie wanted my hair to be straight, and I, as you know quite well, have what some might refer to as a  “Jew Fro”… Basically my hair constantly looks like I’ve just stuck my finger in a light socket, so you can only imagine how much time it must have taken to tame that beast. I had to wake up 2 hours early just to ensure that I would have time to blow-dry and straighten everything, and in the end it made no difference anyways because the second I stepped outside my laborious efforts were undone by the demon humidity! I really did try though, and luckily someone had a hair straightener on set! Once my hair situation was dealt with, I changed into my first costume, did my makeup, and was ready to roll!

Without telling you too much about the movie (I want you to be surprised when it comes out), I will say that I played a wife and mother dealing with a grossly overworked husband struggling to find the balance between success at work and success at home. My favorite person to work with in this film was the little boy who played my son. He was the absolute cutest Israeli 6 year old that I have EVER seen, and he livened up the set like you wouldn’t believe. Oy he had such a personality!

 

photo 3 copy

 

I know that it takes a lot of work to make a movie, but I really never appreciated just how much work actually goes in to every single aspect of a film. Because of this experience I now have a much better understanding and appreciation for the production aspect of films, and, in fact, now that I’ve seen, first hand, the process of filming a movie, I feel that actors and actresses are relatively insignificant to be honest! Of course the actors are important, don’t get me wrong, they are the face of the movie, but they have a lot of other really talented people behind the scenes doing the real work to make them look good! We had a crew on lights, a crew on sound, the director, the cameraman, each pieces of an intricate puzzle that will ultimately make this film come to life, and it was so thrilling to be a part of it!

Ready for my close up! Literally… They were VERY close!

Ready for my close up! Literally… They were VERY close!

TAKE 1

TAKE 1

photo 2

and… ACTION!

and… ACTION!

Scene 1 take 3!

Scene 1 take 3!

 

After the first few scenes with “my son” were finished it was time to say goodbye to little Oliver, and finish up my last few scenes with the main character, Daniel, my husband. I will say this, things were a bit smoother without a little boy who doesn’t speak a word of English running around everywhere, but he was so much fun to have around! The next few hours were dedicated to costume changes, hair fixes, makeup retouches, and countless takes of the same few scenes from different camera angles, with different lighting, and so on, but it was so amazing to really feel the process of creating what will become an actual film. I simply just can’t tell you how exhilarating it was. I felt so comfortable and natural doing this that by the end of the day, despite my exhaustion, I didn’t even realize 11 hours had passed!

Last costume change!

Last costume change!

 

I don’t know when I will have to occasion to do a film again, but I can guarantee that I will take every opportunity that comes my way to be in front of the camera. I’m going to look for auditions, make music videos for my songs, and do whatever I can to do things like this again. Trust me if I can make a living doing this one day I will be the happiest person alive, and being in Israel I have a decent shot at putting my foot through the door both musically and theatrically. At this point it’s a matter of a lot of luck and knowing the right people, and I’m getting there :-). I’m working really hard to get there and I know you would be proud of me! The film should be ready in about 2 months, and when it comes out I will be able to post it on the blog for you, and everyone else to see! I’ll be a bit embarrassed to watch it but I’ll have Stephane tell me how it looks :-)!

In other news I heard back from Palo Alto University today and I have officially made it past the first round of the application process and have been invited for an admissions interview! It will have to be by phone, obviously, but we have arranged a time, and the Friday after I return from Paris, I will be talking with the head of the program! Send me lots of luck from up where you are!

Well that’s about all for now! I leave for Paris tomorrow for two weeks, and plan on blogging every day (or at least as much as time will allow between seeing all of the sights!). I love you forever and always and miss you more that I can express with words.

Until we meet again <3,

Jordana Simone

Leave a Reply

