Personal / Travel

Mr. DeMille, I’m Ready For My Closeup + GO BEARS!

Dear Friend,

So much has been going on lately that I hardly know where to begin, but I am confident that you will be very pleased to know I’m keeping very, very busy. Let’s see, we last left off with a music project and a day of pampering that, in my opinion, was long overdue!! As far as my song goes, my producer is back from his trip to Paris so I should be getting the final version any day now! I have also proposed that he be the writer whom I collaborate with on my first original song, and he seemed really enthusiastic about helping, so that is very exciting news!

 

Berkeley Golden Bears in Israel

A few days ago I received an email announcing an event that was just too good to miss. UC Berkeley Haas School of Business was sending a group of MBA students to Israel for their spring break, and some Berkeley alumni currently living in Israel arranged an event where us expat alums could mingle with the graduate students during their trip. Not wanting to miss a chance to connect with more Golden Bears living in Israel, I bought an early bird ticket, and made my way straight to the event after work on Thursday. It was actually quite a deal; for $30.00 I received a 20 course dinner (no joke), three drinks, and the chance to hear both Knesset member of parliament, Ofer Shelach (Yesh Atid), and Wixx CEO and founder, Avishai Abrahami, give fabulous speeches. I was also able to mingle with the 50 or so Haas graduates that were participation on this trip.


As if I thought the night couldn’t get any better, when the Haas students arrived I noticed someone who looked extremely familiar from behind. I didn’t want to say anything too soon for fear of being wrong and completely embarrassing myself, but once she turned around I immediately recognized one of the graduates as my former sorority sister, Cleya Ormiston! She was one of the members of AXO who recruited me to the house my freshman year and bumping into her in Israel was completely unreal! We were able to sit together for the entire event and catching up with her was really, really exciting. The best part, however, was the look on her face when I called out her name. She was simply stunned, and had no idea I was living in Israel, let alone attending her event! It was a fabulous reunion filled with great speakers, lots of laughs, and AMAZING food!  All in all it was an A+ night! GO BEARS!

LITB, AXO, Sisters!

LITB, AXO, Sisters!

The founder of Wixx speaking!

The founder of Wixx speaking!

SUCH AMAZING FOOD!

SUCH AMAZING FOOD!

IMG_4442

Member of Knesset speaking

Member of Knesset speaking

GO BEARS!

GO BEARS!

 

 

I’m Ready For My Closeup!

I don’t remember if I told you but right after I recorded my song I auditioned for a big student film that is taking place here in Israel. I almost didn’t go to the audition but I kept hearing your voice in the back of my head pushing me to get off of my lazy butt and try for something that could be a great experience! Luckily I went to the audition, had a great time meeting all of the people involved, and was cast in the film! I am the only female in the film and play the supporting role as the wife of the main character. We had a rehearsal yesterday and it reminded me how much I love acting. Working out the camera angles, staging, and running through the different scenes brought me back to my theater days in high school, and filled me with pure joy! Today I’m meeting with the stylist to go over my look for the film, and we start the shoot next Tuesday! I am so excited to be a part of this project and can’t wait to see what comes from it!

 

I’m Ready For Another Closeup!

As you know I am starting a big Arabic, Hebrew, Middle Eastern meets Western Pop music project, and as important as the music is, my image is something I need to work just as hard to fashion and promote! I have teamed up with a phenomenal photographer here in Israel, and as soon as I return from Paris we are going to have a big photoshoot to generate great images for the project! We have been discussing themes and looks, and I’m so excited to see the final outcome! There is nothing like working with talented artists!

 

The Ultimate Waiting Game

In other news, along with the million things I’m currently doing, I haven’t pushed aside my desires to continue my education. My letters of recommendation for the Master’s program in clinical psychology are now complete and sent in, and the waiting game for a decision begins! Luckily this program is through a fantastic university (Palo Alto University-sister school of Stanford), and can be done completely online thus allowing me to study and work on all of my other projects!

 

Spring has Sprung

We have finally sprung forward here in Israel, and spring is officially in the air. The weather is getting warmer, the trees are all in bloom, and a peaceful, calm has swept over the country. I don’t know how to describe it but there is a special smell that fills the air in spring, and that smell has finally made it’s way to the Middle East! I hope it makes its way to France soon too so that I can enjoy some sunshine while I’m in Europe! To ring in spring properly I took my two best men, spent hours outside, and then went to the beach! It was the only appropriate thing for a Tel Avivian to do to celebrate the brilliant warmth and sunshine!

Jasper pre spring outing

Jasper pre spring outing

Pictures from mommy stephy of Jassy enjoy the nice weather!

Pictures from mommy stephy of Jassy enjoy the nice weather!

IMG_4439

Long walk with mommy Jordana!

Long walk with mommy Jordana!

Jasper post walk1

Jasper post walk1

IMG_4454

 

 

Well that’s all for now! I will be sure to tell you all about the movie, and then you can expect a post every day that I am in Paris! I love you forever and always, and miss you more than I can express with words.

 

Until we meet again <3,

Jordana Simone

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

