Personal / Travel

12/29/13: And So Another Year Comes To An End

New Year's Eve, New Year, 2014, Celebration, Israel, Middle East New Year

As 2013 rapidly winds to a close I have started to think about all of the things that I want to achieve in this upcoming year. Like so many of you out there, I have decided to make a list of New Year’s resolutions that I will frequently revisit throughout 2014 in the hopes of making it my most happy, successful, and prosperous year yet.

1) Eat more healthy:  Let’s be honest, I many be thin but I eat like crap. I literally eat the shittiest foods you can imagine. Mayonnaise makes up at least 1/4 of my diet, which includes creamy pastas, fried foods, pastrami sandwiches, lots of coleslaw, and (thanks to Stephane) tons of cheese… SERIOUSLY??? How I have normal cholesterol and am not overweight is amazing to me, but it’s time to take my diet more seriously if I want to live a healthy life. I will always like fattening foods, but I need to start supplementing fiber, fruits and vegetables, and more meats into my diet. The problem is I’m never really hungry, and I’m far too lazy to cook most of the time, so unless I’m with Stephane’s mom I’m not eating well. I need to change my attitude towards food and really make an effort to be more healthy. I have a feeling I’ll feel much better as well!

healthy-foods, healthy living, food pyramid, eating healthy, healthy living

2) Get out of the house more:  I’m not afraid to admit, nor is it a big surprise to anyone who really knows me, that I’m one of the biggest homebodies you will ever meet. I love my space. I love being home, relaxing, being comfortable, and laying low. While this isn’t bad, I need to make more of an effort to go out and enjoy activities outside of the home. Granted I don’t have a ton of money to spare to do a great many things, but I should make more of an effort to at least meet friends for coffee or dinner on a more regular basis.

homebody, lazy, couch potato, hermit

3) Go to Europe: This may sound like a funny resolution to some but I feel I’m the only person in the world who has never stepped foot in any European country (outside of a 2 hour layover in Heathrow Airport). I love to travel and it is very important for me to “see the world” so to speak, so I’m pegging 2014 as the year I finally make it to Europe! I don’t think this one will be too hard seeing as my boyfriend is French, so at least Paris is in my near future, which is very good because I bought some very appropriate outfits just for the occasion 🙂

Paris, travel, Europe, Eiffel Tower, France, French

4) Let the chips fall where they may: I’m one of those people that likes to over think practically everything. If something doesn’t happen when I think it should I automatically make a big production over it, even though there might be really good reasons that said things aren’t happening. In 2014 I want to make as much of an effort as I can to let life take me where it may on it’s own terms, and to stop pushing things that will ultimately be better if they happen naturally. This resolution is especially important in my relationship.

relax-for-health

5) Start my music project: This is a project that could turn into a reality very quickly, especially with the help of Stephane who has turned into both my mentor and manager (so to speak). It’s time for this project to stop being something that I always talk about, and to start being something that I actively work on. I will need to find musicians and songwriters in both Hebrew and Arabic but luckily I live in the perfect country for that! I’m ready to take my place in this worlds as the first Ashkenaz American to record a “Middle Eastern” album in Hebrew and Arabic!!!

recording-studio-003

6) Build up my savings: This will be particularly challenging with the soaring costs of living in Israel in relation to the low salaries given, but luckily I don’t eat or do a whole lot, so if I can just get my sushi addiction under control I might just be able to continue growing my savings for the future!! I have a lot I need to do in life that requires money so might as well start saving now!

tips-saving-money-2

7) Make more of an effort to SPEAK Hebrew: My understanding of the language is now at a professional working level, but my speaking has a way to go (as I have discovered after starting to work at PowToon). Granted I am surrounded by native born Israelis, and immigrants who have been in the country for 10+ years, but my short 2.5 years here is no excuse to resort to English. I am now in the perfect situation where I can speak Hebrew every day at work, and I am going to take this year to become almost completely fluent (including more Ulpan)

talk

8) Continue my study of Arabic: This is perhaps the resolution I’m most excited to continue with. I have grossly disregard my study of this amazing language, and let it take a back seat to Hebrew when I should have had it riding right up front with her. Luckily I have kept up with my reading and writing, now I just have to work on speaking and understanding (the easiest part right??)

Arabic.Design

9) Be a better relative, girlfriend, friend: It’s no shock that I have very selfish tendencies. A major part of 2013 was breaking myself of my more unfortunate personality traits, and while I made great progress, I have a ways to go. I want 2014 to bring a breakthrough in personal growth and development that culminates in a transformation to a more caring granddaughter, daughter, sister, girlfriend, and friend.

family

10) No matter what, find the magic in life: This crazy life is a beautiful thing, and it is easy to lose sight of the fact that the world holds it’s own form of magic. I hope that despite the hardships that may arise in the next year, I always find the strength to remember that life is beautiful, and I’m eternally blessed and lucky just to be alive and surround by the most wonderful family and friends in the world.

magic-door

11) Make God more of a priority: I know that some of you who read this might not believe in God, in fact some of the most important members of my family don’t believe that there is a God, but I have never had a doubt that there is someone up there looking out for me. My faith and belief in God, along with my Jewish culture and religion, have gotten me through some of the hardest times in my life, and I want to dedicate 2014 to strengthening my personal relationship with God, and more deeply connecting to my Jewish culture and religion. As silly as it might sound to some, there is nothing more special in my life than being Jewish and believing in God, and I look forward to to strengthening that relationship.

291_622605187063_6503_n

Well there you have it! The comprehensive list of Jordana Simone Pepper’s New Year’s resolutions! Happy (almost) New Year everyone!

Until we meet again ❤

Jordana Simone

Leave a Reply

