Personal / Travel / Uncategorized

12/16/13: Holiday Nostalgia

Holiday, Christmas, Merry Christmas, Holiday time, Happy Holidays, Christian, Jewish, Religion, Family

As I’m laying here in my bed, listening to my favorite Christmas songs, I can’t help but feel a tinge of pain at the thought that I’m missing yet another holiday season at home. I know I am Jewish, I know that Christmas isn’t “my” holiday, but when you grow up in America, Christmas time encompasses so much more than just a religious event. To me, the period of time from Thanksgiving to Christmas (the “holiday season” as my dad and I like to call it) is one of the most special times to experience in the United States. It’s hard to describe a feeling with words, but when the Holiday season arrives there is such a heightened sense of joy at knowing the upcoming weeks will bring about time off from work and school to spend with family, good music, great movies, decorations, and so much more. Even if you are not Christian, like myself, it is hard not to enjoy all of the holiday festivities.

I especially miss my dad during this time of year. The “holiday season” has always been a special time for us, and we have a holiday movie watching tradition that would blow your mind! We start with the Nightmare before Christmas at Halloween, and then in the days leading up to Christmas we try to watch a different holiday movie every time we are together, ending with White Christmas on Christmas day. I miss my mom and being home where the house is filled to the brim with Chanukkah and holiday paraphernalia, including some rather musical items that like to announce their presence on the hour, every hour… My sister and I would constantly try to de-battery these specific items, but somehow our efforts were always thwarted!

I miss home very much, and I feel very far away from everyone being here in Israel where Christmas might as well not even exist, despite the fact that Jesus’s birth place is about a 45 minute drive from where I live… Ironic isn’t it. There is no holiday feeling here, and it can be very sad at times to see everyone back home enjoying the season while I watch from afar. Interestingly, however, I think the Middle East also started to feel a bit left out, and wanted to take part in the holiday season, so what did they do? They imported something very Christmasy… SNOW! Even Israel jumped on board, but of course it skipped Tel Aviv… We just got stuck with rain and hail!

Snow in Egypt

Snow in Egypt

Winter, Israel, Jerusalem, Jewish, Snow, Middle East

Snow in Jerusalem!

And so, while I can’t be home for the holidays, I will do my best to listen to as much Christmas music, and watch as many Christmas movies as I possibly can. I might even try to get off of work and go to Bethlehem on Christmas day! That’s another thing… I have to work on Christmas!!! I mean I can’t really complain because we have a million Jewish holidays where we don’t have to work, but Christmas was always such a nice excuse to take a break! I think it’s safe to say that next year I will plan my month long trip to be around the holiday time! Who knows maybe I’ll make it home for Christmas, Chanukkah and my birthday!

Here’s a very cute video that one of our PowToon teachers made for the holidays that I thought I would share on the blog! It fits in nicely with the theme! Also, I have shared my all time favorite christmas song! Enjoy!

Until we meet again <3,
Jordana Simone

Leave a Reply

