Uncategorized

11/28/13: So Much To Be Thankful For

Image

Happy Thanksgiving!

I have now been lucky enough to have spent 3 wonderful Thanksgivings here in Israel, but, without a doubt, this was by far the most special one yet! Thursday morning began with a whirlwind of shopping and cooking, and by mid afternoon my roommate’s creations had filled the apartment with a plethora of smells that provoked feelings of home and the holidays. It was to be a feast like no other. We had turkey baked with garlic and rosemary, stuffing made from scratch, cranberry sauce, sweet potato pie, mashed sweet potatoes, coleslaw, latkes (for Chanukkah), applesauce, pumpkin pie, and apple pie!!! Needless to say that by the time the meal was over no one could move (or button their pants). Though the party consisted of mostly Jen’s group of friends, I had the company of the two individuals that mean the most to me: my amazing boyfriend and my puppy Jasper. Even though Jasper is now staying primarily with my roommates sister and her family (including their dog Kesem who Jasper just adores), he will always be my dog, and he proves that every time he is with me!

Mommy #1 and son!

Mommy #1 and son!

BABY LOVIES!

BABY LOVIES!

My baby and me!

My baby and me!

Family photo!

Family photo!

We passed the evening with a lot of laughs, amazing food, and even some live entertainment from our two year old guest who had one hell of a time showing off her knowledge of sing along disney songs! Between that and all of the dogs running around everywhere it was truly one of the more perfect evenings I’ve had in a while!

Our Thanksgiving group!

Our Thanksgiving group!

There was more reason to be happy and thankful during Thanksgiving that had nothing to do with the food or the company. That afternoon, as I was helping to prepare for the arrival of the guests, I received an email that enhanced the holiday cheer tenfold. I was told by the CEO of one of the companies I had interviewed with, a company where I was very much hoping to be offered a position, that I had, in fact, been chosen to be their new Community/Social Media Manager! I was so elated that I accepted the offer and spent the rest of the afternoon basking in the glory that I had found a great job, with great hours, a good starting salary, and a wonderful environment. The best part about it all is that they seemed equally as excited to have me on board which is always greatly appreciated! I think it will be the start of a great adventure in the start up world that Tel Aviv is so famous for!

So what is this new amazing company you ask?? The company is called PowToon and they are a startup that created an application/program that allows people to make short animated videos. Whether teachers use the program to make presentations for a class, or whether corporations use the program to make training videos, it is a wonderful, practical application, that allows people to utilize their creativity and innovation to come up with spectacular things! There is a free version and a paid version, and I urge all of you to check it out and play around with it. I spent 4 hours creating a cute little video about love and relationships, and plan on playing around with it a lot more as my time with the company progresses! Trust me it is very fun! With that said, I can’t wait to begin what I hope will be a great relationship with a really fun, wacky, amazing company!

1461469_580870911980412_139174635_n

The day after Thanksgiving, when most of the food had been digested (although I still felt like I wouldn’t be able to eat for another month), Stephane and I headed to Ashdod to spend time with his family for Shabbat. His father arrived from France that morning, and since Stephane hasn’t seen him in almost a year, it was a perfect excuse to get away for the weekend. When we arrived in Ashdod we had a grand welcoming that consisted of lots of hugs and even more food. The best part about his dad coming from France was that he brought back what had to have been about 500 pounds of gourmet French cheeses and butters!!! I was a happy camper! We spent the weekend relaxing, catching up, eating, more eating, then some more eating, and after a wonderful Shabbat, we headed to the train station to return home to Tel Aviv.

It has truly been a magical weekend, and I can’t express how excited I am to begin my adventure with Powtoon. It will be a wonderful experience where the sky is the limit, and I am so thankful for this amazing opportunity. Stay tuned to see how it goes!

Until we meet again,

Jordana Simone

Leave a Reply

