Uncategorized

9/8/13: Old McDonald Had A Farm!!! And We Went To Visit

Image

My Uncle Scott’s gorgeous ranch!

After a wonderful trip to Berkeley, Stephane and I had the pleasure of going to my Uncle Scott’s ranch for a day and night on the way back home to Palm Springs. I have missed my uncle so much, and was so excited to have the opportunity to see him while I was home. It was also very important that Stephane meet everyone in my family (though my Uncle Lon and Cousin Alex live to far to meet), so this time with my uncle was imperative. We left our hotel in Emeryville around noon (after some shopping of course), and arrived at my uncles around 2 in the afternoon. It felt so good to be back at the ranch, and, of course, the first thing I did was run to see my uncle’s big, big dog, Rainer!

The gorgeous Rain Man

The gorgeous Rain Man

IMG_3542

He really wanted to come in the house and play with us

He really wanted to come in the house and play with us

When we were all settled in we spent an hour or so catching up with life stories and introductions, and then it was time to have some real fun on the farm! Stephane had wanted to drive a quad since his arrival in the states, so it happened to be perfect that my uncle had one laying around! Once we had a thorough lesson of how to not kill ourselves on the vehicle, we took it around for a spin on my uncle’s 10 acre property (plus we drove to neighboring farms). It was great fun, and quite a rush of excitement. I, being a lesser thrill seeker than Stephane, was a bit worried about Stephane’s speed on the bike (I really didn’t feel like dying), but it really was very fun, and we ended injury free πŸ™‚

Thrill seeking!

Thrill seeking!

I think he was just so happy to drive!

I think he was just so happy to drive!

Just another adventure

Just another adventure

:-)

πŸ™‚

After our high speed quad ride, it was time to introduce Stephane to my Uncle’s baby! Stephane already had an idea in his mind that most “men’s men” owned a Harley Davidson, so it was no surprise when he stepped into my Uncle’s garage to see his completely decked out, HUGE Harley! We had some fun playing on the bike, saw all of it’s new features (including a terrific sound system), and at that point Stephane hit his peak of feeling American (football game, on a farm, riding quads, motorcycles, etc).

IMG_3558 IMG_3557 IMG_3556 IMG_3549 IMG_3550 IMG_3551 IMG_3552 IMG_3553 IMG_3554 IMG_3555

Once Stephane had his fill of my Uncle’s amazing technological toys, it was time to get a different kind of fill. One thing to note about my Uncle is that he has to be one of the world’s greatest chefs; he truly is an artist with food, and he didn’t hold back with the feast that he prepared for us! Stuffed mushrooms, steak from his own stock of meet (he raises his own cows), the sweetest corn on the cob you will ever taste, assorted veggies from his garden, and home made rolls with butter. It was a feast for kings and we enjoyed each and every dish. To top it all off, for dessert my Uncle made a home made fruit pie that was to die for! It was such a gorgeous night that we decided to eat on my Uncle’s newly furnished and remodeled deck, and then we took a dip in the hot tub before bed. The best thing about my Uncle’s ranch is that it is secluded, and pitch black at night so you can really see and appreciate the stars.

Our feast!

Our feast!

My Uncle's beautiful new deck furniture

My Uncle’s beautiful new deck furniture

It was too nice not to eat outside

It was too nice not to eat outside

Dessert

Dessert

It was a short visit with my uncle but nonetheless amazing. I truly love being at the farm with him, and I was so overjoyed that he could get time off of work to meet Stephane. Stephane really enjoyed the visit, and it added to our already amazing time in California. In just a short week we had already done so much, made so many memories, and had wonderful experiences. And we still had so much to look forward too, including LAS VEGAS and DISNEYLAND! Stay tuned for that post πŸ™‚

Until we meet again <3,

Jordana Simone

Leave a Reply

