Uncategorized

7/24/13: The First Taste Of Being A Mommy+A Booze Cruise!

Image

Baby Jasper!

It has been quite a whirlwind of a few weeks in my household which has left me very little time to update the blog. Finally, however, at 1 o’clock in the morning on a boyfriendless night, I seem to have a spare few seconds to document all of the exciting things going on here! First and foremost I would like to take the time to say that I am settling in to my new position as a department manager quite nicely (or so I think!) I have already hired new agents, trained one of them, fired another, and I will begin a second round of training with new agents next week! I’m very excited about the prospect of new blood in the company, and I am really loving my new responsibilities. One of the reasons I love this company so much is that the owners and upper management really make a valiant effort to show how much they appreciate the work that we do for them, which, in turn, is why I find working so enjoyable and meaningful. Every month they  try and plan a so called “fun day”, where we participate in an all expenses paid activity which serves as a fantastic way to foster inter company relations. Two months ago we were treated to a spa day at the dead sea, the next month we enjoyed an all expenses paid BBQ in the park (though I had to miss that event for my friend’s wedding), and this month we were treated to an all expenses paid yacht cruise around the port of Herzliya!

Now, one thing to know about me is that I LOVE boats, and I love being on the water. I pretty much feel that cruising is the ONLY way to travel well! With that in mind, naturally I was excited for this event! All of the employees met at the office around 5:00pm on Sunday, and we were bussed to the port of Herzliya where we boarded a beautiful Yacht complete with delicious appetizers and a whole bunch of alcohol! O, and the yacht was so fancy there was even a Jacuzzi on board 🙂 Too bad no one knew this so many of us didn’t come readily prepared with bathing suits.

Getting ready to cruise!

Getting ready to cruise!

Yacht complete with hot tub?!?! LOVE

Yacht complete with hot tub?!?! LOVE

some of the girls!

some of the girls!

Orri and me getting ready for the festivities to begin :-)

Orri and me getting ready for the festivities to begin 🙂

DELICIOUS appetizers

DELICIOUS appetizers

More good food!

More good food!

Capturing a capture of the moment!

Capturing a capture of the moment!

When the cruise began everything was so lovely and tranquil. We sailed a bit around the port, snacked on the appetizers, and started fast and strong on the cocktails! Looking back that probably wasn’t the best idea. As the sun began to set the captain decided to take us out of the marina into open waters. In the beginning all of us were very excited to be moving out of the boat infested Marina waters, however, after two minutes of bad boat driving and EXTREMELY choppy waters, we wished we were back in the calm. I NEVER get motion sickness. Put me on the craziest, twisty-est, fastest roller coaster and I’m in pure heaven, but there was something about how this captain was driving the boat that almost killed everyone on board. A choppy ride doesn’t even begin to explain what we had. There were moments where we were all sure the boat was going to flip right over. No one could stand up because the boat would dip or twist so violently, my co manager had to excuse herself to vomit due to the motion, and everyone else, myself included, was having a VERY hard time keeping the food and alcohol down. I came dangerously close to having to excuse myself as well. One of the big bosses finally had to tell the driver to go back into the marina or we would all have had a very memorable fun day, and I don’t mean that in a good way. Once we were back in calm waters everything became fine and fun again. Some people decided to brave the hot tub in their clothes, others of us decided to let the sea sickness subside with lots of water and sunset watching, and then by 9:30pm we docked the boat and headed back to Tel Aviv. Despite the fact that the trip almost killed us, it was a wonderful day spent with a great company! Our next fun day is going to be an all expenses paid pool day at one of the big hotels in Tel Aviv, and my boss was kind enough to move the original date just so I could be there since I’m leaving for California at the end of next month 🙂

IMG_3271

Holding on for dear life!

Holding on for dear life!

Hot tub fun (pardon Orri's inappropriate hand gesture!)

Hot tub fun (pardon Orri’s inappropriate hand gesture!)

Moving away from work, I have been having a very different kind of life experience this past week that is teaching me a GREAT deal about things that one needs to be aware of as they enter true adulthood. Last Thursday my roommate Jen, who works as a veterinary technician, informed us that there was a very sick puppy that needed fostering for a few days while he recovered from surgery, and asked if we would mind her bringing the puppy home to our place. The baby was adopted but the family wasn’t able to take him until after the weekend. Begin the extreme dog lover that I am  of course I said yes yes yes. I was overly excited about another puppy in the house, but after seeing the picture she sent of the baby, I secretly wanted his new family to back out so that I could adopt him myself he was so sweet looking!

The baby who needed a temporary home

The baby who needed a temporary home

When I first met the baby he was in a very bad position. He is only 6 weeks old, weighs less than .5 kilos, and had major orthopedic surgery on a leg that was dislocated and detached. He shook of cold because he has no body fat, cried constantly because of pain, and had to endure shots of pain medications and antibiotics multiple times a day which threw him into a state of panic. He wasn’t eating much, hardly ever drank, and could barely stand himself up let alone pee or poop comfortably. After a few hours with him we bonded enough that I named him Jasper (dog naming was a task assigned to me). I don’t really know why that is the name I chose, but it seems to fit him well, and he now responds to Jasper or Jassy (as we like to call him!)

Stitches from surgery

Stitches from surgery

The little baby!

The little baby!

his favorite position

his favorite position

After the first day he showed great improvement in terms of pain, eating, control of bodily functions, etc. He seemed to be more active, and though the other dog of the house, Bella, wanted absolutely nothing to do with him, he would get so excited every time she was near that I thought his little tail was going to fall off! For most of the weekend Jen and I took shifts caring for him, making sure he wasn’t too cold, making sure he was eating, and ensuring that he was as comfortable as possible. We made it through the weekend with little problems outside of the fact that Jasper caught an upper respiratory infection that we are now treating him for. Because his situation is so fragile, and because he has little to no immune system, Jen told the adoptive family that he would not be able to change environments for at least another week or two while his infection was clearing, and as sad as I am that he is sick, I was so happy we were able to keep him longer.

I was happy we could keep Jassy longer for two reasons: One being that I just love the little guy, and two because Stephane was coming to spend 2 days with me and he was going to be able to meet the puppy! I was secretly hoping he would fall madly in love with him and change his mind about wanting a dog! When Stephane came he and the puppy bonded instantly. They played, the puppy wanted to snuggle and crawl all over him, and it was one of the cutest things I’ve ever seen. I was also excited because Monday was a day that both Jen and I worked, meaning Stephane would be on babysitting duty for the whole day! Being a worried, Jewish mom type, I made sure to go over puppy ground rules at least 5 times. I told him to make sure he eats, make sure every hour or so when he wakes up he is put on the floor to do a pee pee and poopy, and to make sure he stays warm. I won’t lie, I was a bit worried in the beginning, but Stephane rose to the occasion like a champion. I called in every 2 hours or so to make sure all was well, and in the process I discovered that Stephane is an even more neurotic Jewish mommy than I am. He was so worried about leaving the baby alone even for a second that he went so far as to take the puppy into the bathroom with him just so he could always have an eye on him! A little excessive but overly adorable. He was a perfect daddy and the puppy had a great time.

Since the puppy seems to like my room so much, and because I have created a whole area just for him, he now stays primarily with me. Bella, my roommates dog, is also very territorial over Jen’s room so it is safer for the puppy to be in my room as opposed to locked in Jen’s bathroom. Tonight was the first night the puppy was on his own as both Jen and I had work and our other roommate was not home. I can’t tell you what a wreck I was. I was texting Jen every hour seeing when she would be home so she could check on the dog. I can honestly say I have a much better appreciation for the kind of responsibility and worry that comes with taking care of a defenseless, dependent, baby.  My shift at work passed a lot more smoothly once I knew the puppy managed time alone just fine!

This experience has taught me two very important things. Firstly, for as self centered and selfish as I tend to be, I have never been more thrilled to push my needs aside and care for another life. I am a contributing factor to the fact that this puppy is still alive, and that is something I am so proud of. I worry about him like he was my own child, and though it is so stressful, it is so rewarding to see that he is improving every day in part because of my care and affection. Secondly, I am so excited to be the mommy of a beautiful puppy one day, but this experience has shown me that I don’t need to rush into making that decision before I’m truly ready. I now have zero doubt that I will be a wonderful dog owner, but I need to be a bit more settled in life with both more time and more space (it is very hard having Jasper take up 1/3 of my already small room). Stephane and I have the profound gift of only having responsibilities over ourselves. We don’t have kids, we don’t have dogs, and until I am really ready to give up complete freedom I am not going to push for a puppy. I figure that there will come a time in the next few years that the idea of children and being tied down won’t completely terrify me. At that point it will be time to get a puppy. Until then I will just enjoy all of the exciting life experiences that will get me to that point in time! Stephane, I’m sure,  is very happy that I am giving this issue a rest for a while  since he is certainly not ready for a puppy anytime soon (as he has made abundantly clear).

Jassy doing what he does best... SLEEPING

Jassy doing what he does best… SLEEPING

My little lovey

My little lovey

I'm going to be one of THOSE moms! CAL BABY ALL THE WAY!

I’m going to be one of THOSE moms! CAL BABY ALL THE WAY!

Well that is about all of the news from this neck of the woods! We have the puppy for another week at least so I’m sure I’ll have more updates on his situation as the week progresses.

Until we meet again <3,

Jordana Simone

Leave a Reply

