Uncategorized

4/26/13: How Low Can You Go? My Trip To The Dead Sea

Image

Yam Hamelach

I have been working for BCC Communications for almost 3 months now, and everyday I truly enjoy it more and more. Not only do I enjoy what I do, but I work for, and with, incredible people. Every month spent at this company has brought with it some kind of wonderful surprise; month 1 I received employee of the month, month 2 I was promoted to a managerial position with a salary increase, and month 3 I was treated to one of the most amazing work trips I have ever been on. A few weeks ago the employees of BCC were informed that there would be an all expenses paid company trip to the Dead Sea, where we would spend the day at one of Israel’s finest 5 star hotels. We were also informed that there would be a “surprise”, but we would have to wait until we arrived to discover just what that was.

On Thursday night I worked until 11, was home by 11:30, asleep by 12, only to wake up 6 hours later to be back at work at 7am, where a bus was waiting to take us all to the lowest place on earth; the Dead Sea. Despite the fact that we were all exhausted, we found it very hard to sleep on the almost 3 hour bus ride to the Dead Sea. We were laughing, joking, and being silly to the point where the 3 hour bus ride felt like a mere 20 minutes. When we finally arrived we were informed that we were being taken to the famous Meridian Hotel where we would have a whole day of  full access to the spa facilities, and …FOR THE BIG SURPRISE…a free massage compliments of the company owners!!!!! I really work for the most amazing people EVER! When we got off the bus I was taken aback by how astoundingly gorgeous this hotel was. We all gathered in the lobby, were given our spa wristbands, were each given a time slot for a massage, and then we were off to enjoy the facilities.

The Gorgeous Meridian Hotel

The Gorgeous Meridian Hotel

The stunning Dead Sea landscape

The stunning Dead Sea landscape

Before the lot of us went to the main pool, we decided to try out the various salt pools that the spa had to offer. When I say salt pools I literally mean Dead Sea salt water, water that no living organism can survive in, imported into a pool on the hotel grounds. Unfortunately for one of my coworkers, he was not briefed on this fact, so when he saw the gorgeous turquoise water beckoning him, he decided to jump right in, eyes wide open, and it took a few hotel guests to get him to a point where he could see again… You do NOT want that salt water in your eyes…

Taking some sun by the salt baths

Taking some sun by the salt baths

True Paradise

True Paradise

Hello all expenses paid spa day!

Hello all expenses paid spa day!

After about an hour or so at the pools, it was time for me to get ready for my massage! I was so looking forward to 30 minutes of pure bliss that I hardly knew what to do with myself. I walked up to the reception hall, took my massage ticket, discovered that I was getting a 300 shekel massage for free (AMAZING), and then saw the name of my masseur… Borris… I knew all the masseurs were Russian, but I was pretty sure I would at least get a woman… no such luck. I have never had a massage with a man before, but I kept and open mind and went with the flow. I had switched massage time slots with one of my managers (Ella), so when Borris came to collect me he was under the impression that Ella was my name. There is a significance to this. Ella is, apparently, a Russian name so when he collected me he started saying things that I absolutely could not understand. At first I thought to myself, “wow my Hebrew must be really awful… I can’t understand a thing this man is saying”, but after a minute I figured out he was talking to me in Russian… I stopped him, requested our meeting be conducted in Hebrew, and then he apologized stating that he thought I was Russian because of my name.

That massage itself was…interesting. In the beginning Borris kept talking to me, asking me questions about work, asking if he was doing everything ok… I finally had to tell him that if I had a problem I would tell him so that he would stop talking and keep massaging. It’s also a good thing I’m not too shy because he being very liberal with pulling my bathing suit bottoms down enough to massage my lower back. A very interesting massage indeed… At one point I was convinced Borris was going to dislocate my shoulder as well, but all in all the massage felt very good.

After my 30 minute pampering session, I rejoined my colleagues by the main pool, where I spent the next 4 hours laying in the lap of luxury, and taking in as much sun as I could.

Being silly!

Being silly!

A day well spent by a gorgeous pool

A day well spent by a gorgeous pool

At around 4pm it was time to head back to Tel Aviv. This bus ride back seemed a whole lot longer than the bus ride to the Dead Sea, and after a whole day in the sun, everyone was very happy to have 3 hours to sleep. It was really a wonderful day spent with amazing people, amazing bosses, and it made me so proud to work for a company that treats it’s employees so well. When we arrived back in Tel Aviv I took my bike home and waited for Stephane to pick me up to take me back to his house. I usually ride my bike or take a bus to him, but after 8 hours in the sun there was no way I was moving unless I was getting a door to door service :-). Stephane just received his Israeli driving license anyways so the practice was good for him! It was a perfect day!

In other news, summer has officially arrived to Israel. Israel was a bit confused this year and completely skipped the season of spring (quite literally… It went from cold and rainy 3 days ago, to 95 degrees and humid), but I am very glad for the heat! I have missed beach season thoroughly and plan on taking full advantage of the hot weather! It should be a great summer here and the best news is that at the end of August I will be coming home for a month to see my family! Not only will I be coming home, but Stephane will be joining me for part of the trip, and I couldn’t be more excited for my family to FINALLY meet him. I am also quite excited to show him around the great state of California! It is going to be a wonderful trip and, though it is 4 months away, I have already started planning all of the fun things we will do! Stephane is so excited as well, even though I think he is a bit nervous to meet my dad!

Stay tuned for more frequent updates now that my schedule has calmed down a bit!

Until we meet again <3,

Jordana Simone

Leave a Reply

