Uncategorized

2/28/13: Hard Work And A Very Special Anniversary

imagesThere is a great deal of truth to the age old saying that “hard work pays off”. In any situation, in regards to anything that you are doing, if you work hard you are bound to see desired results. I began my job one month ago, and though it is not a “career” job, I have worked very hard to make sure I that I give a good performance in every shift that I work. This job is absolutely perfect for what I need at this time and place in my life; it pays my bills with some extra money to spare, it is flexible for someone who is about to start both a music project and return to school for an MA/PhD, and there are great possibilities for bonuses, extra commission, and little perks and benefits. I don’t want to forget to mention that it is also a really fun work environment with great people from all over the world!

My training at the company went really well, and I feel that I genuinely picked up everything relatively fast. I’m always paying attention, learning from my mistakes, and trying to get as much done in a shift as humanly possible. It’s a lot of work but at least there is so much to do I’m never, ever bored! Anyways, yesterday at work I saw the managers talking, and I could tell something was going on. I don’t know why but I was slightly nervous that they were about to have a serious meeting with us about things we could be doing better. With so much going on in the office it is easy to make a lot of mistakes simply because we are always multi tasking about 5 different things, which does leave a lot of room for little errors. Anyways, we had already started the shift and the managers started the meeting by saying that they were implementing something they had done a long time ago; employee of the month. This award would go to the person who has the most amount of work recorded on the shift reports we prepare every shift, and there would be a little prize for the winner.

Needless to say, as the new girl, I was astounded when they called my name as the first employee of the month! I am working with people who have been with the company many, many months, and who know quite a bit more than I do, so I took it as a big honor, and credit to my work effort, that I was the recipient! It was a very exciting moment! For my award, my bosses are taking me to a big Israeli rock concert on Sunday which I couldn’t be more excited about! A whole night of great, new Israeli artists, and an outing with the great people I work with couldn’t be a better gift. And now, all that’s left to do is continue working hard, learning, and hoping for the award a few more times while I’m with BCC 🙂

In other news, a huge milestone has passed and I’ve been so busy I completely forgot to make mention of it! February 17th marked the 1 year anniversary of my Aliyah to Israel, and February 28th marked the 1 year anniversary of my return to the Holy Land as a legal citizen! How fast a year goes by! It feels like just yesterday I told my family and friends of my plans to make Israel my permanent home, and now, here I am, 1 whole year later! So many amazing things have happened in this year it is hard to keep track of them all. I met my amazing boyfriend, have started working on a fantastic, very exciting, music project with a wonderful producer, moved into a wonderful new apartment with 2 great women (and the cutest little puppy every!), have started my application to return to school, have improved greatly in my abilities to speak Hebrew, have travelled, and so much more! Everyone says the first year after your Aliyah in Israel is the hardest, and most difficult both emotionally and financially, and if that is the case I have some pretty smooth sailing from here on out! I’m all too excited to see what this next year in Israel will bring, but I have a feeling it will include some very good things :-). My life changed so much since moving here, and I wake up everyday so happy and grateful for the life that I have made for myself here. I have a lot of growing up to do, and there are still many challenges to overcome, but I feel like I can do anything being here with the great people that I have in my life. I don’t need much outside of God, my family, and Stephane (although I pretty much group him in with family at this point), and with those three things securely in place, the possibilities are really endless for me! SO…HERE’S TO THE NEXT YEAR!!!!

Until we meet again, ya chaverim <3,

Jordana Simone

Leave a Reply

