Uncategorized

2/21/13: An Obligation To Get Drunk?? + Costumes!! Thank You Judaism!

purim_clip_image002

O Purim! The one time a year where it is religiously acceptable to dress up like an idiot and drink a lot of alcohol! Halloween has nothing on this holiday! But before I get into the shenanigans of the holiday I would like to give a brief summary of the holiday for those readers who aren’t so familiar with Jewish holidays and traditions. Purim is a holiday that commemorates the deliverance of the Jewish people in ancient Persia from a plot to destroy them, and centers around Queen Ester (the story of Purim is in the book of Esther), the Persian king Ahashverosh, and Haman (the man who plotted to destroy the Jewish people). I won’t get into too many details but basically the king of Persia fell in love with Esther (a Jew), and when it was discovered that his royal vizier (Haman) wanted to kill the Jewish people, Esther, and her influence over the king, saved our beautiful people! Traditional customs of the holiday include giving gifts of food and drink, giving charity to the poor, and drinking alcohol, wearing costumes, and holding public celebrations.

I will tell ย you from two years of experience that whenever there’s a party to be had, there is no better place to be than in Tel Aviv. The city was alive with endless possibilities of things to do throughout the whole weekend of Purim. The celebrations began Thursday night, however, being the hard worker that I am (or because I’m poor and need money), I decided it would be a good idea to schedule work from 3-11pm, and then try and party all night… Not my best idea… When I finished work at 11 I was EXHAUSTED, tired, cranky, and I had to wrap my mind around a 45 minute bike ride to my boyfriend’s house in neighboring Ramat Aviv close to where our party was being held. When I arrived I was not in the best mood, but Stephane handled the situation like a champion, and turned my bad day into one of my best nights. Plus how can you stay in a bad mood when you walk into a house and see someone dressed like this:

Stephane's cousin took costuming to a new level!

Stephane’s cousin took costuming to a new level!

At around 12:30 am, after I had gotten a much needed second wind, we decided to head out to the party. We arrived at the venue around 1 to a huge line of people, I was in a little costume freezing my tushy off, and my bad mood came back really quickly. However, Stephane, being the angel that he is, decided that since there was a long line anyways, we would go back home, I could change to warmer clothes, and then by the time we came back we would be able to get right in. At this point I felt awful I was so cranky, apologized profusely, took a deep breath, got into warmer clothes, and, like magic, the night became magical. It’s amazing how much fun you can have when you aren’t frozen! When we returned to the venue the large crowd had dissipated, we got right in, and by 2am we were settled and celebrating to our hearts desire. The music was amazing, the crowd was insane, and I was with my favorite person in the world. It was pretty wonderful.

Now, anyone who knows Stephane will not be surprised, but I think that his idea to take me home to change clothes was just as selfish as it was selfless. I have a felling that he wasn’t happy with the quality of his costume, so right when we got home he figured out a great way to make sure that he would be noticeable at the party… EXHIBIT A:

If you can't find a costume, wear mismatched clothes and color your face!

If you can’t find a costume, wear mismatched clothes and color your face!

The three of us danced the night away, enjoyed a few quality drinks, had even more laughs, and took full advantage of the fact that we are still at an age where it is perfectly acceptable and reasonable to act a bit silly.

This is why my face appears red in EVERY picture!

This is why my face appears red in EVERY picture!

Boys will be boys

Boys will be boys

Smile pretty!!

Smile pretty!!

Kisses for everyone!

Kisses for everyone!

My future family??? :-)

My future family??? ๐Ÿ™‚

By the time I realized I was even remotely tired it was already almost 5 in the morning! By then we all felt we had done enough justice to the holiday and headed back home. The next day was Tel Aviv’s huge street party, but seeing as I was running on about 3 hours of sleep, I decided to let Stephane enjoy this event on his own. Since I couldn’t be his date he decided to bring someone much cuter to accompany him to the party. He and his little brother left around 11:30am, and his mom and I stayed home and slept, which, in my humble opinion, was the much better idea ๐Ÿ™‚

Stephane and his much cuter accompaniment to the party!

Stephane and his much cuter accompaniment to the party!

Recycling his amazing costume from last year

Recycling his amazing costume from last year

CHAMOOOOOOOD

CHAMOOOOOOOD

This one's going to be a heartbreaker one day!

This one’s going to be a heartbreaker one day!

IMG_2842

When everyone arrived home we had a lovely Shabbat dinner and then all went right back to sleep!!! The rest of the weekend was very relaxing since we were all dead from the festivities of Thursday and Friday, I picked up an extra work shift on Saturday, and then experienced my first office Purim party on Sunday!

I can honestly say I have never experienced anything like this office Purim party in my life. One of the many reasons I love Israel is that, work or not, everyone celebrates the holidays with conviction! Though we had a regularly scheduled shift, the first hour and a half was devoted to eating, dancing, and DRINKING with the whole company (bosses and all). I’m pretty sure our big boss took about 10 shots of whiskey that evening. I will say one thing, however, the work day goes by a lot faster when you have a few shots in you! Talking with clients was an experience though ๐Ÿ™‚ All in all it was a fantastic second Purim in Israel!!!

Other than that work has been good, time consuming but good, and I still feel like I’m living in a fairy tale. Everyday I wake up feeling so blessed for this wonderful life I have here, and I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world. In other news I want to send a huge MAZAL TOV and CONGRATULATIONS to my dear friend Sarah who recently became engaged to her boyfriend Shai! I can’t wait for the big day!!!!!

Until we meet again <3,

Jordana Simone

Leave a Reply

