Uncategorized

2/14/13: Who Needs To Hear I Love You, When You Can SHOW I Love You: VALENTINE’S DAY 2013

Image

I remember last Valentine’s day so vividly. I was on a break from school and home in California for one month, and I kept thinking about this great guy that I had just started seeing. It was new, and not anything very serious, but I knew he was special and when he sent me a Valentine’s day text it made my whole day just knowing he was thinking about me. Who would have thought that a year later we would be celebrating our first official Valentine’s day together here in Israel, and he would give me one of the best weekends I can remember!

Stephane is a very special man, one of the most special people that has ever entered my life, and this was something I knew from almost the first moment I met him. What I didn’t know was just how amazing, creative, and thoughtful he was until this weekend.

The week leading up to Valentine’s day was a very long week for me. I had my first full week of work, and was running around between meetings and making sure I had time to spend with my friends and Stephane. By the time Thursday rolled around I was very ready for a relaxing, fun weekend with my favorite man. Wednesday night I worked until 11pm, and Thursday morning I had to be at work at 8am, so you can only imagine that by the time I got off of work at 4pm I was exhausted. I hadn’t been home in almost a week because I had stayed with Stephane and his family, so I was very excited that we decided to spend Valentine’s weekend at my place. I finally have an AMAZING apartment and I was glad to start utilizing it! Stephane was scheduled to come over around 7:30 which gave me between the hours of 4-7 to prepare for our date! We had decided to not be like every other couple in the world and cook at home instead of going out which meant we would have a nice, homey, romantic Valentine’s day in the comfort of home. My roommates were both gone so we would have the place to ourselves.

When I arrived home at 4:30 my roommate greeted me at the door and asked me a very peculiar question. She asked me if I had seen my room lately. I was extremely confused by this and thought that maybe she had purchased something new for the apartment and put it in my room. When I told her no she led me to my room and I opened up to quite a surprise! My mouth dropped opened as I looked at every wall in my room decorated with all of the things I love most in the world. Months ago, when Stephane was in Australia, he asked me to send him a list of everything that I love, and today when I opened up my room, everything on that list was transformed into wall art that he used to decorate my room. I almost cried I was so excited, and the time and thought he must have put into this made it so special. He apparently took my roommates number from my phone (without my knowing), conspired with her to come over and decorate my room when he knew I was at work, made sure I spent the night with him so I wouldn’t see it until Valentine’s day, and he did all of this while studying for his last big final! Perfect right?!?!?!

IMG_0257

He gave me Paris!

He gave me Paris!

My attempt at a panoramic of the whole room

My attempt at a panoramic of the whole room

My Disney corner!

My Disney corner!

Puppies, Israel, and Arabic! This boy knows me too well

Puppies, Israel, and Arabic! This boy knows me too well

GO BEARS!!! Have to have a football corner

GO BEARS!!! Have to have a football corner

It reads: "It's difficult to be the best boyfriend in the world"... So true!

It reads: “It’s difficult to be the best boyfriend in the world”… So true!

After I recovered from the shock of my surprise, I remembered that I had a date to get ready for. Stephane and I decided that we would cook together (he would make a French dish and I would do something American), and enjoy a nice evening at home with good food, and an even better view! I told him that I would make the deserts and I wanted to have them ready by the time he arrived. In the end I decided on chocolate covered strawberries because they are elegant and delicious, and simply perfect for Valentine’s day. They turned out great and made the ambiance when Stephane arrived very adorable and romantic. I decorated the whole outside so that everything would be ready and set when he arrived, and all we would have to worry about was cooking our food! You couldn’t have picked a more perfect night, and from the 28th floor the view was worth a billion dollars, and we got to enjoy it all for free 🙂

IMG_2786 IMG_2788

Billion dollar view!

Billion dollar view!

When Stephane arrived I showered him with a million kisses to thank him for his surprise, and then we got all ready to do our cooking! Stephane decided to make us delicious savory French crepes, and I decided on a balsamic, orange chicken dish. We decided we would eat his meal first since it was milk, and then after a little wait we would move on to the chicken (no mixing allowed!!). We had so much fun cooking, were completely silly and goofy, and even had some help from Baby Bella, and at the end we had such amazing food to eat!

IMG_2787

Taking risks with food sure paid off!

Taking risks with food sure paid off!

Orange, balsamic dressing, garlic, and mushrooms! SO GOOD

Orange, balsamic dressing, garlic, and mushrooms! SO GOOD

Crepe #1

Crepe #1

The French Chef Master!

The French Chef Master!

Baby Bella wouldn't leave Uncle Stephane's side!

Baby Bella wouldn’t leave Uncle Stephane’s side!

It might not look so good, but it tasted AMAZING

It might not look so good, but it tasted AMAZING

Bob and Charlie all ready to eat! We had two very good meals out of them

Bob and Charlie all ready to eat! We had two very good meals out of them

When we were done with dinner I had one more surprise in store for me! Stephane had made me a card (like an ID card) with cute pictures of us surrounded by quotes from some of our various inside jokes. It is something I will always carry with me and it was so special! He sure spoiled me good!! After all was said and done we had to recover a bit from our food coma, we took a little rest, and then decided to have dessert with our nighttime movie! We enjoyed our strawberries in bed with a good film, and it turned out to be the most perfect end to a perfect night. He is really the most special man I have ever met and I’m so lucky I can call him mine. He is my best friend and the love of my life, and I can’t imagine one single day without him. I have been blessed beyond belief, and if soul mates exist he is absolutely mine, and I am so luck to have found him! Just one more thing Israel has given to me!

Steph is in a food coma and Baby Bella wanted to join in the fun!

Steph is in a food coma and Baby Bella wanted to join in the fun!

Now that I have a more regular work schedule stay tuned for more regular posts!

Until we meet again,

Jordana Simone

One thought on “2/14/13: Who Needs To Hear I Love You, When You Can SHOW I Love You: VALENTINE’S DAY 2013

  1. i am well aware that this “boyfriend” has co-opted the number 1 spot on “your favorite man” list….i would just like to point out that i have and always will have seniority over Frenchy…i would keep that in mind as we make plans for our first meeting in October…your loving father who changed many a diaper on your flat little tuchus!!!

Leave a Reply

