Uncategorized

1/25/13: Embracing Change Can Change Your Life

Image

My dear readers,

First let me take a moment to apologize for not writing recently. I feel like the last 3 weeks have been a blur of some of my best and worst times here in Israel, and by the end of this post you will know what has kept me so occupied and how life has such a beautiful way of working itself out. When we last left off I was in the midst of celebrating my big 25th birthday which was a time spent with wonderful friends and family. However, as you also know, there were some problems that arose around that time that I could no longer allow myself to ignore.

In this world there are some people you just don’t mesh well with and find it virtually impossible to get along with. Unfortunately for me I lived with two such people. Thinking that some things would when 1 of them left Israel permanently I didn’t actively pursue looking for new accommodations, because, in all honesty, I loved my apartment more than anything; it was home for me. When my living situation didn’t improve (and in fact it deteriorated further), I told myself that despite my overwhelming love for my apartment, and my very close friendship with one of my roommates and his girlfriend, I needed to get out for my own sake. It had been a long while since I was truly comfortable and happy at home but I’m no fan of change and kept myself in a toxic situation to avoid something new and unfamiliar.

However, like with most things, change can be a wonderful, and necessary, thing for those who have the strength to cash in the chips and take the first step, and as luck had it, fate handed me a great second hand. A girl in my building, a building that I’ve grown to completely adore, happened to message me one day at which point I told her I was looking for a new living situation. As luck would have it, there was a room available in her apartment (20 floors up!!!) and I came for an interview with her roommate the next day. The apartment was gorgeous, clean, and came with a puppy (!!!!!) so I was immediately sold. After about 30 minutes the roommates thought I would be a good fit and I signed the papers (metaphorically speaking) to take the room and move in! A huge weight was lifted off of my shoulders knowing that soon I would be rid of a problem that I had suffered with for a very long time; too long of a time to be honest. However, I wasn’t free and clear yet. The rent in the new place was a bit more expensive and I was only just starting to look for work…

Determined to put my life together as quickly as possible, and fueled by the desire to remove myself from a toxic environment, I sent out application after application to any job I felt would be a suitable position for someone who was about to go back to school in the fall. A few very good possibilities came through and a few days ago I went on a very promising job interview. The company was a sales company that worked with American clients, so my job would be in English (which was perfect), and the salary was decent with potential for bonuses and commission. I really don’t like sales, and wasn’t so excited about the work, but the pay was decent and the hours would allow me to work very hard until October and then scale down once school started without jeopardizing my position with the company. Things were starting to fall into place and I was very happy with what was going on. Now I was very confident in my decision to move and was getting more and more excited for the big day to arrive.

However, luck wasn’t quite through with me yet, and yesterday during ulpan I received a call from an unknown number. Now, usually, if I don’t know the number I NEVER answer, however, because I’m trying to rent my room out in my old apartment I have had to pick up calls from potential takers. When I answered the phone it was a lady from the job I was most excited to apply for asking me to come in for an interview. There were only 2 spaces available and she wanted to see if I would be a good fit for the company. It is a communications firm that works for a pharmaceutical company in the states and my job would consist of customer risk assessment, customer support, and chance of commission if I forward a call to a sales agent who closes a deal. NO SALES and I could still earn commission! Pretty nice + the base salary was almost 30% higher! Anyways I went in for the interview, had a great time, and was offered a position with the company!!!!! Life was seeming to fall into place so beautifully!

Anyways the day I accepted the job I also moved into my new apartment, spent a million hours setting it up, and now I feel just as much at home (if not more) than I did at the other place. I”m living with two amazing women, an adorable puppy, I have an amazing room, in a beautiful, clean apartment up on the 28th floor! I have a new job, a new home, amazing roommates, a perfect boyfriend, and am still loving every moment of every day here in Israel; the bad days and the good days!

Aside from that my ulpan is almost over, my next level is soon to begin, I start work on Sunday, and I continue working on my album as soon as my producer returns from the states 🙂 LIFE IS GOOD!!!

IMG_2703

Brand new bathroom

Brand new bathroom

My new little roommate (and alarm clock)!

My new little roommate (and alarm clock)!

IMG_2718

Perfect desk space for when i go back to school

Perfect desk space for when i go back to school

Dream closet

Dream closet

Amazing view of Tel Aviv from the 28th floor

Amazing view of Tel Aviv from the 28th floor

Our cute little balcony

Our cute little balcony

Not complaining about a room that comes with a TV and space heater!

Not complaining about a room that comes with a TV and space heater!

My favorite little corner

My favorite little corner

Bed upgrade! Hello queen size!

Bed upgrade! Hello queen size!

View from my window!

View from my window!

And so here is to the next chapter! A new job, a new home, a fresh start, and a separation from everyone and everything that threatened to make my time here anything but amazing. It feels amazing to love home again!

Stay tuned for updates on the job, the home, the boy, the album, and all the other wonderful things going on!!

Love always,

Jordana Simone

Leave a Reply

