Uncategorized

1/6/13: A Quarter Of A Century

Image

At this very moment 25 years seems to have gone by in the blink of an eye, however, looking back, I am able to truly appreciate all of the many things I have accomplished in just 25 short years of life. Despite the fact that I feel like I’m leaving my prime (ridiculous I know), and the fact that my father loves to remind me that I’m only 5 years away from 30 (a terrifying thought when I realize it’s been 6 years since I graduated high school and that went by in a flash), I know I am still quite young with a whole lot of life left to live.

I am very fortunate and comforted by the fact that the 25 years I have under my belt, thus far, has been filled with such excitement and accomplishment: I grew up in beautiful California with an amazing family, had a wonderful high school career that included years filled with fantastic friends, serving as senior class president, competing and winning the local Junior Miss Scholarship competition (which is where I met one of my lifelong best friends), preforming with my school’s amazing theater company, winning best actress of my high school, and, most importantly, working hard and getting accepted into one of the best universities in the world; The University of California, Berkeley.

UC-Berkeley-campus-overview-from-hills.h

While at Berkeley I majored in one of the more challenging subjects offered, Cognitive Sciences, which opened up my world of knowledge to include linguistics, biology, psychology, discrete mathematics, and computer science (my least favorite), joined one of the most fantastic sororities in the world, Alpha Chi Omega, where I served in numerous leadership positions including Executive officer of Education, all while enjoying a flourishing social life and, my personal favorite, COLLEGE FOOTBALL!!! GO BEARS! I met some of my best friends while at school, had fantastic relationships, and participated in a 10 day trip to Israel which led to the most important achievement of my life thus far; making Aliyah to Israel!

After 8 months of working at home and saving money, I applied for a one year Israel program, fell in love with life again in Israel, decided to make this beautiful country my permanent home, met an amazing man, reconnected with family and friends on this side of the world, traveled, and have completed language training for my new life as a Middle Easterner!

This brings me up to the present time, and I must say that the first 25 years of my life have been most assuredly fantastic. I can only imagine what the next 25 years will be like! I have future studies to look forward to, an album that I will be recording, another language to learn (setting my sights at trilingual), other countries to visit, and so much more. I don’t know exactly what life has in store for me, but I have reason to look on the future with nothing but optimism and excitement!

My actual birthday wasn’t the crazy, partying mess it has been in the past, in large part due to the fact that I was getting over the flu, but I couldn’t have asked for a better night. I spent it with the people I love the most (minus my sister who was sick), was treated to a very scrumptious dinner at an upscale restaurant by my amazing boyfriend, roommate, and his girlfriend, and then came back home to have a quiet, relaxing night with Stephane, which, on a rainy and stormy night, really turned out to be the greatest way to end my birthday!

i-649208724_57d744ab30e815cd24126f3ac8600711

Perfect Birthday place!

Perfect Birthday place!

Since my birthday fell on a weekday I decided to have a bigger party on Thursday; one more worthy of turning a quarter of a century… Unfortunately, Israel was experiencing some of the worst storms she’s seen in over 1o years, and I didn’t want to go to a club bad enough to brave the freezing, wet weather. So instead, I invited a few of my closest friends to my apartment to have a little celebration at home. Luckily we had a full supply of alcohol and some other goodies so it turned out to be a more agreeable, and warmer, alternative!

The night was everything I could have hoped for, and despite an incident with my roommate from HELL (literally, he is one of the worst people I have ever had the misfortune of meeting), at 5 in the morning (in which my boyfriend really proved he is my knight in shining armor), it was a wonderful night filled with much joy and happiness. But alas, the celebrations aren’t quite over yet 🙂 Tonight I will end out my week of birthday celebrating with a nice dinner party featuring Stephane, his mother, and little brother (who shares the same birthday as I do)!

IMG_2572 IMG_2580 IMG_2590

Stephane was trying to be an American gangster... silly Frenchman!

Stephane was trying to be an American gangster… silly Frenchman!

Birthday Bisous

Birthday Bisous

shhhh! It's a secret!

shhhh! It’s a secret!

Stay tuned for news on my upcoming music project! I’m making an album!!!

Until we meet again <3,

Jordana Simone

Leave a Reply

