Uncategorized

1/1/13: A Happy, Healthy New Year!!!

HAPPY NEW YEAR

HAPPY NEW YEAR

It is almost impossible to believe that yet another year has come and gone, but when people told me that 2012 would be an incredible year they weren’t kidding! Before I get into the specifics of my second New Year’s Eve in Israel, I will begin by recapping the highlights of this magical year.

1) possibly the most important highlight of 2012 was that it was the year I made Aliyah to this beautiful country that I now call my home! Let me tell you, it isn’t always easy here, but I would rather struggle here than be anywhere else. I never would have believed that a place could be my soul mate but I’m pretty sure my being is completely intertwined with beautiful land.

It's official! I"m Israeli!

It’s official! I”m Israeli!

Best part, travel documents are RED!

Best part, travel documents are RED!

2) I met the most amazing man in the whole world who is the best boyfriend and friend a girl can ask for. He is one of the most special people I have ever had the pleasure of knowing, and I can’t believe how amazing this year has been because of him. The good things have been twice as good, and the bad things haven’t been so bad at all because he is here with me!

Stephane and me enjoying our golf cart tour!

Stephane and me enjoying our golf cart tour!

My best friend!

My best friend!

A perfect day and an even better date!

A perfect day and an even better date!

HAPPY CHANUKAH

HAPPY CHANUKAH

3) I finally experienced a bit of what it was like to travel the world! And lucky for me I had great friends to experience this with, including one of my best friends who accompanied me on an amazing tour of Turkey! In all I have travelled all over Israel, Turkey, Jordan, and the West Bank (Palestinian Territories)! Too much fun!

A beer festival in the Palestinian Territories!

A beer festival in the Palestinian Territories!

In short, life has been really really amazing this year and I have so much to be thankful for. This NYE was very special because I was not only able to celebrate with my amazing, incredible, wonderful boyfriend, but my sister was also with me, and that was very special! Before going out for a night on the town Ida, her boyfriend Nir, my roommate Ben, his girlfriend Bar, Stephane, his cousin, and myself enjoyed a fantastic NYE dinner at a lovely, little Italian restaurant in Rama Hachayal (an area of Tel Aviv close to Petach Tikvah). We were sure to make later reservations so that we could eat and then go right into the celebrations close to midnight. Despite the fact that I had the beginning stages of what would turn into a really nasty flu (no fun), I had a wonderful meal with my absolute favorite people!

Me and the roomie, Ben!

Me and the roomie, Ben!

Had to dress up for the occasion!

Had to dress up for the occasion!

My beautiful sissy and her man!

My beautiful sissy and her man!

When dinner was over, despite the fact that Ida, Nir, Ben, and Bar were going home for the evening, I decided to suck up the fact that I felt like death, and go out on the town with my boyfriend and his cousin. I mean, it is New Year’s after all, and I wasn’t about to leave my sure fire NYE kiss! Nir and Ida drove us to Florentine, a very fun, hip area of Tel Aviv with lots of clubs and bars, on their way home, and while we were there we met up with a few of Stephane’s friends from France. I just can’t get enough of those French people! We arrived just a few minutes before midnight so before we went into the bar to meet his friends we saw the fireworks and partook in one of my more favorite New Year’s traditions; the midnight kiss! Not a bad way to ring in the new year I’d say πŸ˜‰ (Dad I’m sorry but yes I will be posting some kissing pictures!)

IMG_2532

We are goofy kids

We are goofy kids

The BEST New Years date

The BEST New Years date

It's a good looking family that's for sure

It’s a good looking family that’s for sure

Crazy Cousins

Crazy Cousins

I wanted in on the fun

I wanted in on the fun

:-)

πŸ™‚

HAPPY 2013!!

HAPPY 2013!!

After the stroke of midnight we were all pretty jazzed to continue the night so we found Stephane’s friends in a really nice little bar, joined them for a few drinks, and had a wonderful end to the evening. I was just in heaven seeing that the bar we were in was playing nothing but Mizrahi music (I have a feeling it is a bar that Moroccan Jews frequent often), and it was a perfect way to spend the night. I’m turning more and more Sephardic (minus the whole I’m actually an Ashkenaz by birth thing) every minute which I LOVE πŸ™‚ For one night nothing mattered but starting off the new year well! I didn’t think about school, work (or looking for work), problems, money, NOTHING! I just enjoyed dancing the night away with wonderful people! I paid for it the next few days when I developed a full fledged flue (complete with fever and body aches), but it was worth it!

He knows who's boss! kidding... or am I :-)

He knows who’s boss! kidding… or am I πŸ™‚

It's not a proper party without this one!

It’s not a proper party without this one!

I'm constantly entertained

I’m constantly entertained

I'm French at heart :-)

I’m French at heart πŸ™‚

It was a brilliant NYE, and I’m so glad I could spend it with the people I love the most. I just wish more of my family was here to enjoy it as well! Minus the flu, and the fact that Israel is practically under water due to horrendous weather, it is shaping up to be a fabulous year! I have so much in the works, including an upcoming album (stay tuned for details!), studying in Hebrew, hopefully more travel, and continuing this amazing life in this amazing country! BRING IT ON 2013!

Stay tuned for posts about my first Sephardic Brit Mila (circumcision of an 8 day old baby boy… Very big in the Jewish community), my 25th birthday, and O so much more!

Until we meet again ya chaverim <3,

Jordana Simone

Leave a Reply

