Uncategorized

12/3/12: People Who Make You Happy Are Blessings, Those Who Make You Sad Are Experience

Image

Tranquility

It’s no surprise to anyone who knows me, or who reads this blog, that I absolutely love my life here in Israel. Despite the hardships that occur I wouldn’t trade where I am for anything in the world. However, as my boyfriend likes to remind me, I can’t be positive all the time, and since this blog is around for the purpose of relaying every aspect of my life, both the good and bad, the hard and the pleasurable, I feel it only appropriate to talk about something that is proving to be a phenomenal personal growth experience though it is something very difficult in my life at this time.

A few days ago I came across a quote that resonated so strongly with me and couldn’t be more prevalent to what is going on in my life at the current moment. The quote had to do with people in your life who may be wonderful or, unfortunately, the opposite, and said: “Good people in your life give you happiness, while bad people give you experience…” I like this quote for many reasons, among them is the fact that it acknowledges that people who make you more sad than happy will come into your life, but if you view those people as individuals who provide you with experiences that cause growth and maturity, it makes the situations you encounter more tolerable, and even necessary. There’s nothing quite like putting a positive spin on negative situations.

It’s very hard to be in situations where you are forced to be around people that darken what is usually the most bright of lives, but it is also equally as hard to find situations where you won’t encounter at least one person who tries to bring you down or kill your bright spirit. I have learned, and am continuing to learn, however, a valuable lesson in the fact that it is essential to learn how to deal with, and live with, ¬†people like this early on, because it is an fundamental skill, in my opinion, that one needs to living a happy life.

It’s not easy… Anxiety and disdain are emotions that plague you when you are forced to be around people that are bad to the core, and it is so easy to want to fall into a very bad place. I have visited that place on many occasions and everyday have to work hard to pull myself out and tell myself that it is only temporary and will get better. Life is about learning, and this is a valuable learning experience for me; to look at it another way would only be counterproductive to the kind of life I am trying to live. Along those lines it would be so easy to blame those people in my life for things that are going less than good, but in actuality, if I allow them to bring me down and damper the experiences I want to have, it is no one’s fault but my own, and this is something hard to admit. Instead of looking at this way I remind myself everyday of the wonderful people I do have in my life and thus am able to take the power away from the bad people and shift it to my favor, because by acknowledging the phenomenal, brilliant, kind, special, and wonderful people in my life, I’m making the bad ones insignificant to me, and that is the best power to have over anyone who goes out of their way to knock you down.

And so, to those people who hurt because it’s fun for them, or because they are insecure with themselves to the point that making other’s feel bad is the only way for them to feel good, I thank you for teaching me a valuable lesson. The point of moving to Israel was to grow up and you have given me the opportunity to continue in that journey.

In more exciting news big things are on the horizon for me in the upcoming months. I have been meeting with a very prominent music producer here in Israel and hope to be starting a project with him very soon! After a few meetings with composers I’m hoping to get started so stay tuned for information on my upcoming project!

Until we meet again <3,

Jordana Simone

One thought on “12/3/12: People Who Make You Happy Are Blessings, Those Who Make You Sad Are Experience

Leave a Reply

